Lossless music download

Girls Names - The New Life [Expanded Version] (2013)

Alternative, Rock, Indie | Author: artmuss | 2-02-2019, 16:39
Girls Names - The New Life [Expanded Version] (2013)Artist: Girls Names
Title Of Album: The New Life
Year Of Release: 2013
Label: Slumberland Records/The Orchard
Country: Northern Ireland
Genre: Alternative Rock, Post-Punk, Dream Pop, Lo-Fi
Quality: FLAC (*tracks)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 1:24:33
Full Size: 530 mb

Belfast-based four-piece Girls Names are a singular proposition, both geographically and psychically removed from their contemporaries at home and abroad. Released on 26th February, their second album ''The New Life'' is the sound of a band on the fringes striving to forge their own path, purposefully out of step - and time - with their surroundings. Weighed heavy with the grey landscapes of their hometown, ''The New Life'' is isolation laid bare, shot through with an undeterred sense of purpose and individuality. Having released a series of singles and EPs on various independent labels, Girls Names made their first significant impression on the wider world in 2011 with their debut album, ''Dead To Me,'' earning plaudits from the likes of Pitchfork, NME and Loud & Quiet amongst a host of others. And yet, despite all the praise heaped on it, as soon as that record was released Girls Names were already moving into a different head space. The band's performance at this year's Primavera festival provided them with their first real opportunity to showcase the songs that were to comprise ''The New Life.'' The sunshine backdrop of the Spanish coastline offered a somewhat incongruous setting to the eerie dissonance of the new material, a kind of trial by fire metamorphosis rapturously received. Following a tour of Europe, the band returned home to record the album over a series of months. Having been produced by singer and songwriter, Cathal Cully, they've managed to capture that sense of otherness the performances at Primavera hinted at. The expansion to a four piece means the garage-clatter of the spritely pop songs of their debut have been replaced by a deeper, shadowy exercise in catharsis, driven by repetition, psychedelia and Dionysian crisis. And the record was born of a weighty concept too, as Cully explains: '''The New Life' is not an over-night change for Girls Names - just over two years in fact. 'Dead to Me' literally was dead to us by the time it was committed to wax. But it's a learning curve. We started moving on as artists the moment we finished that recording session, maybe even before. Not to dwell on the past, 'The New Life' is what happens when you reset everything back to zero and start again, but try to perfect. It starts back at zero the minute the needle hits the groove but we're also starting back from zero once the needle lifts at the end of the record. Ad infinitum. 'The New Life' is what follows now.''


01 - Portrait
02 - Pittura Infamante
03 - Drawing Lines
04 - Hypnotic Regression
05 - Occultation
06 - A Second Skin
07 - The Olympia
08 - Notion
09 - Projektion
10 - The New Life

Bonus Tracks:
11 - Visions (also iTunes bonus track)
12 - Third Uncle (Brian Eno cover)
13 - The New Life (David Holmes remix)
14 - Projektions (Gabe Gurnsey Factory Floor remix)
15 - The New Life (Jd Twitch Optimo remix)
16 - Drawing Lines (Mark Van Hoen remix)
17 - Occultation (Soft Walls remix)

Neil Brogan: drums
Cathal Cully: guitars, synths, keys, drum machines, vocals
Claire Miskimmin: bass guitar
Philip Quinn: synth on Projektion and Occultation



:: MusicMuss ::

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1164 |
    Related Releases:     
  • The Puppini Sisters - The High Life (Deluxe Edition) (2016)
  • The Jones Girls - The Jones Girls & At Peace With Woman [Remastered] (2005)
  • The Janedear Girls - The JaneDear Girls (2011)
  • Girls Aloud - The Sound Of Girls Aloud - The Greatest Hits (2006)
  • P!nk - Stupid Girls (2006) FLAC (tracks + .cue)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?