Lossless music download

Van Morrison - Back On Top (1999)

Classic Rock, Blues Rock, Folk | Author: artmuss | 12-02-2019, 16:23
Van Morrison - Back On Top (1999)Artist: Van Morrison
Title Of Album: Back On Top
Year Of Release: 1999
Label (Catalog#): Virgin/Pointblank [7243 8 47148 2 6; VPBCD50]
Country: Northern Ireland
Genre: Blues Folk Rock
Quality: FLAC (*tracks,cue,log,scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 52:24
Full Size: 414 mb

After so many songs ranging through so many styles, it is a pleasure to have Van Morrison return to the music that suits him so well. Steeped in blues and R&B, Back on Top finds Morrison celebrating life and its pleasures to the limit. The up-tempo "New Biography" takes a sharp stab at those who say they know him just so they can see their names in print. "Golden Autumn Day" is a near perfect summation of his music up to today and provides a rare glimpse into his personal life as well. On this and other cuts, Morrison sounds like he's taken a lesson or two from tourmate Bob Dylan, and there's a thread that runs from Dylan's recent work right on through to this one. "Goin' Down Geneva" is a great blues cut, while "In the Midnight" is bedroom music, pure and simple. "Back on Top," the title track, swings along with such ease that you're tempted to check and make sure you didn't put in Moondance by mistake. The meditative "When the Leaves Come Falling Down" even will remind one of Morrison's meditations on Astral Weeks. No matter which track you pick, there's not a weak cut here.


01. Goin'Down Geneva – 04:25
02. Philosopher's Stone – 06:04
03. In The Midnight – 05:07
04. Back On Top – 04:20
05. When The Leaves Come Falling Down – 05:39
06. High Summer – 05:14
07. Reminds Me Of You – 05:42
08. New Biography – 05:23
09. Precious Time – 03:47
10. Golden Autumn Day – 06:34

Van Morrison – vocals, acoustic guitar, harmonica, producer
Mick Green – acoustic and electric guitars
Pee Wee Ellis – soprano, tenor and baritone saxophones, background vocals
Matt Holland – trumpet
Geraint Watkins – piano, Hammond organ
Fiachra Trench – piano
Ian Jennings – double bass
Liam Bradley – drums, percussion, background vocals
Bobby Irwin – drums
Brian Kennedy – background vocals
Irish Film Orchestra – strings



:: MusicMuss ::

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1019 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Van Morrison - The Best Of Van Morrison Volume 3 (2007)
  • Van Morrison - Back On Top (2008)
  • Van Morrison - What's Wrong With This Picture? (2003)
  • Van Morrison - Keep It Simple (2008)
  • Van Morrison - The Best Of Van Morrison Volume Two (1993)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?