Lossless music download

Adrian Boult - Handel: Acis and Galatea & Messiah (2011)

Classic | Author: SELMER | 9-03-2019, 17:39
Adrian Boult - Handel: Acis and Galatea & Messiah (2011)
Artist: Adrian Boult
Title Of Album: Handel: Acis and Galatea & Messiah
Year Of Release: 2011
Label: Decca Eloquence
Country: UK
Genre: Classical
Quality: FLAC (*image + .cue, log, scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 4:17:10
Full Size: 1.32 GB


Disc: 1
1. Symphony
2. Comfort Ye, Comfort Ye My People
3. Every Valley Shall Be Exalted
4. And the Glory of the Lord
5. Thus Saith the Lord
6. But Who May Abide
7. And He Shall Purify
8. Behold, a Virgin Shall Conceive - O Thou That Tellest Good Tidings to Zion
9. For Behold, Darkness Shall Cover the Earth
10. The People That Walked in Darkness
11. For Unto Us a Child Is Born
12. Pifa
13. There Were Shepherds Abiding in the Field... And the Angel Said Unto Them... And Suddenly There Wa
14. Glory to God in the Highest
15. Rejoice Greatly, O Daughter of Zion
16. Then Shall the Eyes... He Shall Feed His Flock
17. His Yoke Is Easy

Disc: 2
1. Behold the Lamb of God
2. He Was Despised
3. Surely He Hath Borne Our Griefs
4. And with His Stripes
5. All We Like Sheep
6. All They That See Him... He Trusted in God
7. Thy Rebuke Hath Broken His Heart
8. Behold and See
9. He Was Cut Off... But Thou Didst Not Leave
10. Lift Up Your Heads
11. Unto Which of the Angels... Let All the Angels of God
12. Thou Art Gone Up on High
13. The Lord Gave the Word
14. How Beautiful Are the Feet
15. Their Sound Is Gone Out
16. Why Do the Nations
17. Let Us Break Their Bonds
18. He That Dwelleth in Heaven... Thou Shalt Break Them
19. Hallelujah

Disc: 3
1. I Know That My Redeemer Liveth
2. Since By Man Came Death
3. Behold, I Tell You a Mystery... the Trumpet Shall Sound
4. Then Shall Be Brought to Pass... O Death, Where Is Thy Sting?... But Thanks Be to God
5. If God Be for Us
6. Worthy Is the Lamb... Amen
7. Thy Rebuke Hath Broken His Heart... Behold and See
8. Sinfonia
9. Oh, the Pleasure of the Plains!
10. Ye Verdant Plains
11. Hush, Ye Pretty Warbling Quire
12. Where Shall I Seek the Charming Fair?
13. Stay, Shepherd, Stay!
14. Shepherd, What Art Thou Pursuing?
15. Lo! Here My Love!
16. Love in Her Eyes Sits Playing
17. Oh! Didst Thou Know the Pains
18. As When the Dove Laments Her Love
19. Happy We!

Disc: 4
1. Wretched Lovers!
2. I Rage - I Melt - I Burn!
3. O Ruddier Than the Cherry
4. Whither, Fairest, Art Thou Running
5. Cease to Beauty to Be Suing
6. Would You Gain the Tender Creature
7. His Hideous Love Provokes My Rage
8. Love Sounds Th'alarm
9. Consider, Fond Shepherd
10. Cease, Oh Cease, Thou Gentle Youth
11. The Flocks Shall Leave the Mountains
12. Help, Galatea! Help, Ye Parent Gods!
13. Mourn, All Ye Muses!
14. Must I My Acis Still Bemoan
15. 'Tis Done: Thus I Exert My Pow'r Divine
16. Heart, the Seat of Soft Delight
17. Galatea, Dry Thy Tears
18. O Ruddier Than the Cherry

Sir Adrian Boult made a selection of Decca recordings in the 1950s and 60s ranging from Baroque repertoire (Bach, Handel) to the music of the 20th century – most notably the first eight Vaughan Williams symphonies. Coupled together for the first time on CD are his two major Handel recordings for Decca – of the oratorio Messiah and the pastoral masque Acis and Galatea. Messiah is performed in unashamed grand tradition and this reissue is notable for the fact that it includes, as a bonus track, the first ever release of the tenor version of the recitative and arioso ‘Thy rebuke … Behold and see’. The alternative version for soprano was chosen for the main recording and this wonderfully pliant reading by Kenneth McKellar will come as a revelation to many. Joan Sutherland appears on both works and the rest of the cast includes several notable singers living and/or working in England at the time – Peter Pears, David Ward, Owen Brannigan and David Galliver. The booklet includes the original notes as well as full texts for both works.

Adrian Boult - Handel: Acis and Galatea & Messiah (2011)

Download Adrian Boult - Handel: Acis and Galatea & Messiah (2011)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 808 |
    Related Releases:     
  • The Sixteen & Harry Christophers - Handel: Acis and Galatea (2019)
  • Valentin Radu & Ama Deus Ensemble - Handel: Messiah (1995)
  • William Boughton - Handel's Messiah (2003)
  • John Eliot Gardiner & Monteverdi Choir - Handel: Messiah (1992)
  • Marc Minkowski - Handel: Messiah (2001)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?