Lossless music download

Ensemble Symposium & Francesca Boncompagni - Boccherini: Stabat Mater & String Quartet, Op. 41/1 (2016)

Classic | Author: SELMER | 16-04-2019, 06:53
Ensemble Symposium & Francesca Boncompagni - Boccherini: Stabat Mater & String Quartet, Op. 41/1 (2016)
Artist: Ensemble Symposium & Francesca Boncompagni
Title Of Album: Boccherini: Stabat Mater & String Quartet, Op. 41/1
Year Of Release: 2016
Label: Brilliant Classics
Country: Italy
Genre: Classical
Quality: FLAC (*image + .cue, log, artwork)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 57:50
Full Size: 275 MB


String Quartet Op.41/1 in C minor G214
1. Prestissimo 5’17
2. Tempo di Minuetto, Trio 5’52
3. Flebile 4’24
4. Prestissimo 2’13

Stabat Mater G532
5. I. Stabat Mater 4’59
6. II. Cujus animam 2’18
7. III. Quae moerebat 2’42
8. IV. Quis est homo 1’17
9. V. Pro peccatis 3’48
10. VI. Eia Mater 6’46
11. VII. Tui Nati vulnerati 4’18
12. VIII. Virgo virginum 4’49
13. IX. Fac ut portem 2’59
14. X. Fac me plagis 2’14
15. XI. Quando corpus 3’46

This is a desirable new album on Brilliant Classics of two works showing different sides of the Lucca born composer Luigi Boccherini. The original version of the Stabat mater, G. 532 for soprano and strings and the String Quartet in C minor, G. 214.

One of the most prolific classical composers of his time Boccherini was a true cosmopolitan celebrated in many of Europe’s major cities. In his day Boccherini was principally known as a virtuoso cellist, although, he enjoyed a considerable reputation for his compositions, the vast majority of which were in the field of chamber music. Concentrating mainly on instrumental music Boccherini wrote relatively little vocal music. However, he did leave 2 settings of the Stabat mater the 13th century hymn to the suffering of Mary at the crucifixion of Jesus Christ her son.

The Stabat mater probably completed in 1800/01 for two sopranos and tenor was published in Naples in 1801 followed by a French edition published in 1805. Recorded here is the first draft of the Stabat mater written some 20 years earlier in 1781 for solo soprano, strings and cello obbligato that the composer did not mention in his own catalogue. Ensemble Symposium is playing the edition based on the first critical edition of the 1781 version edited by Luca Levi Sala. Boccherini has selected text from the Jacopone da Todi Sequentia that he has assembled into 11 sections. The score of the Stabat mater includes borrowings from several of his instrumental works and conversely motifs/melodies from the Stabat mater can be traced to a few of his other works including the String Quartet in C minor, G. 214 which is also contained on the album.

This original version of the Stabat mater with the single soloist and five strings emerges as a setting that feels fresh and profoundly intimate. Soprano Francesca Boncompagni excels, with intelligent singing producing a lovely purity and fluidity to her voice whilst communicating a sense of consolation and appropriate reverence. I especially admire Boncompagni’s excellent breath control in the long melodic lines of the Tui Nati vulnerati, the inspirational character of the Fac me plagis vulnerary and such captivating innocence and piety of the final section Quando corpus morietur.

Using period instruments, Ensemble Symposium, in the String Quartet in C minor provides an engaging performance high on polish and long on assurance. The quartet plays with immaculate ensemble and the intonation from the gut strings sounds most appealing.

No problems whatsoever with the sound quality, recorded in the Seminario Vescovile di Piacenza, having a pleasing clarity and beautifully balanced too. In the booklet Luca Levi Sala has written an interesting and informative essay. Also provided is the Latin text to the Stabat mater but disappointingly there is no English translation. On both the booklet cover and inside liner the stunning oil of The Resurrected Christ Appears to the Virgin (1629) by Italian Baroque painter Guercino adds to the desirability of this attractively performed and presented release. ~ Michael Cookson, MusicwWeb-Iinternational

Ensemble Symposium & Francesca Boncompagni - Boccherini: Stabat Mater & String Quartet, Op. 41/1 (2016)

Download Ensemble Symposium & Francesca Boncompagni - Boccherini: Stabat Mater & String Quartet, Op. 41/1 (2016)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 705 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Ophelie Gaillard, Pulcinella Orchestra - Boccherini: Cello Concertos, Staba ...
  • Sophie Karthauser, Les Folies Francoises & Patrick Cohen-Akenine - Boccheri ...
  • Ensemble 415, Chiara Banchini & Agnes Mellon - Boccherini: Stabat Mater; Sy ...
  • Philippe Herreweghe - Dvorak: Stabat Mater (2013)
  • Haydn Joseph - Stabat Mater (Trevor Pinnock) (1990)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?