Lossless music download

John Martyn - The Apprentice (2007)

Acoustic, Rock, Folk | Author: SELMER | 22-06-2019, 10:59
John Martyn - The Apprentice (2007)
Artist: John Martyn
Title Of Album: The Apprentice
Year Of Release: 1990 / 2007
Label: One World Records
Country: UK
Genre: Folk Rock, Acoustic
Quality: FLAC (*tracks + .cue, log, scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 1:12:57
Full Size: 529 MB


01. Live on Love 04:30
02. The River 04:03
03. Look at the Girl 04:35
04. Income Town 04:27
05. Send Me One Line 05:36
06. Deny This Love 04:16
07. Hold Me 04:51
08. Upo 03:50
09. The Apprentice 04:29
10. The Moment 03:46
11. Patterns in the Rain (Foster Patterson) 03:45

Bonus Tracks:
12. Deny This Love (remix) 03:53
13. The Apprentice (live) 04:50
14. The River (live) 04:49
15. Send Me One Line (live) 05:47
16. Look at the Girl (live) 05:29

The Apprentice was mostly completed a full two years before it was released. Martyn's record label, Island, rejected the tapes of the songs in 1988, even though artistically they were not too far removed from his previous release, Piece by Piece. In fact, this album turned out to be the more cohesive of the two. Eventually released by Permanent Records, it's by and large a well-crafted collection of songs. Its only weaknesses are the sometimes too-strong dependence on synthesizers and the song "Deny This Love," which is Martyn doing bad dance music (and featuring a truly horrible a cappella introduction). Otherwise, it's an enjoyable album. "Look at the Girl" is a wistful follow-up to his 1974 song "My Baby Girl," while the haunting and moving "Patterns in the Rain" features Martyn's first recorded acoustic guitar playing in years (even though it's not very predominant). "Income Town" is an upbeat, more rock-oriented track, which has a sort of obscure in-joke added to it. Loud arena applause accompanies the beginning, though listeners will notice in the LP liner notes that the song is credited as being recorded at a club called the Green Banana in Toronto. Longtime fans will recognize this mythical club as a recurring Martyn joke. The Apprentice, along with Cooltide, caps off the smooth jazz sound of his '80s albums, and is one of the best of this series of works. -- Rob Caldwell

John Martyn - The Apprentice (2007)

Download John Martyn - The Apprentice (2007)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1145 |
    Related Releases:     
  • John Martyn - Sapphire (2015) [Deluxe Edition]
  • John Martyn - London Conversation (2005)
  • John Martyn - Glasgow Walker (2000)
  • John Martyn - The Tumbler (1994)
  • John Martyn - One World (2002)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?