Lossless music download

Brian Culbertson - Bringing Back The Funk (2008)

Jazz | Author: SELMER | 13-07-2012, 08:23
Brian Culbertson - Bringing Back The Funk (2008)
Artist: Brian Culbertson
Title Of Album: Bringing Back The Funk
Year Of Release: 2008
Label: GRP Records
Genre: Smooth Jazz / Funk
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Bitrate: Lossless
Total Time: 46:39 min
Total Size: 317 MB


01. Funkin' Like My Father feat. Bootsy Collis (05:15)
02. Always Remember (04:22)
03. Hollywood Swinging feat. Musiq Soulchild & Gerald Albright (04:09)
04. The House Of Music feat. Larry Graham & Ronnie Laws (04:50)
05. You Got To Funkifize feat Chance Howard (05:26)
06. The Groove (04:41)
07. The Wolrd Keeps Going Around feat. Ledisi (04:26)
08. Excuse Me... What's Your Name? (01:59)
09. Voices Inside [Everything To Everything] feat. Eddie Miller & David T. Walker (06:02)
10. Let's Stay In Tonight (05:29)

In the 14 years since the Illinois-born and bred composer, producer, and keyboard whiz released his debut Long Night Out at the age of 21, he's evolved from a shy kid writing cheerful pop songs in a bedroom studio to one of contemporary jazz's most electrifying A-list performers. The luminaries included one-time James Brown bassist Bootsy Collins and Phelps "Catfish" Collins plus members of the Rubber Band and the Horny Horns (all out of P-Funk); Larry Graham (the slap bass great of Sly & the Family Stone and his own Graham Central Station — no laid-back "One in a Million You" happening here!); Larry Dunn and Sheldon Reynolds (Earth, Wind & Fire); Greg Adams (Tower of Power), Tony Maiden and Bobby Watson (Rufus), Michael Bland, Cora Dunham, and Rhonda Smith (from Prince's bands), solo stars Ray Parker, Jr., David T. Walker, Ronnie Laws, Gerald Albright, Tom Scott, Paul Jackson, Jr., Perri, etc.
Modern neo-soul was well represented as well, with Ledisi swaying dreamily through horn accents and multiple keyboard flavors on Bill Withers' lightly obscure gem "The World Keeps Going Around" and Musiq (Soulchild) slammin' it with urban sax god Gerald Albright, a sea of crunching horns and Culbertson's bright chordings on "Hollywood Swinging." Culbertson's choice of covers, which includes Candy Dulfer and Prince vocalist Chance Howard's urgent command from TOP that "You Got to Funkifize" (featuring Adams on trumpet), is inspired, but he also co-wrote a batch of gems that stand proudly alongside the classics. Reynolds and Collins are among the co-writers of the bright, brass splashed "Funkin' Like My Father" that comes across like an invitation to the party with a series of vocalists connecting past to present. The EWF-inspired Culbertson-Reynolds co-write "Always Remember" shows that no matter how crazy he gets with the production, Culbertson is still a joyfully melodic jazz keyboardist at heart.
Other original highlights include the simmering gospel-blues number "The House of Music" (Graham and Laws are the billed stars, but Ricky Peterson's Hammond B-3 carries the soul), and the buoyant piano and horn section dance dubbed "The Groove" Parker (who cut his teeth on R&B sessions a decade before "Ghostbusters") chimes in on the percussive, two-minute interlude throw down "Excuse Me...What's Your Name?" which features Culbertson on the trombone, trumpet and Mini-Moog. An even more powerful party all night affair than Dulfer's magnificent Candy Store was the previous year, Bringing Back the Funk is Culbertson's masterwork that took contemporary urban jazz to a whole new level in 2008. ~ Jonathan Widran, Rovi

Download Brian Culbertson - Bringing Back The Funk (2008)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1664 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Brian Culbertson - Dreams(2012)
  • Brian Culbertson - XII (2010)
  • Brian Culbertson - Live From The Inside (2009)
  • Brian Culbertson - Nice & Slow (2001)
  • Brian Culbertson - Secrets (1997)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?