Lossless music download

Gregg Allman - The Gregg Allman Tour (1974)

Rock | Author: peaceofmind | 29-09-2012, 10:54
Gregg Allman - The Gregg Allman Tour (1974)

Artist: Gregg Allman
Album: The Gregg Allman Tour
Genre: Rock / Blues Rock / Southern Rock / Blues
Year: 1974 {2008 SHM-CD Japan Mini LP Edition}
Label: Universal / Capricorn | UICY-93512 | 24-bit remaster
Format: EAC FLAC (Track+CUE+LOG)

Gregg Allman's tour in support of his debut solo LP, Laid Back, led to the recording of this album (originally two LPs) at Carnegie Hall in New York and the Capitol Theatre in Passaic, NJ. It's a match for Laid Back in musical value and then some, with a good, wide range of repertory and great performances throughout by all concerned, plunging head-first and deep into blues, R&B, honky tonk, and gospel. Strangely enough, the album contains only three of Laid Back's songs -- "Don't Mess Up a Good Thing" opens the show in a properly spirited, earthy manner, but it's the second song, "Queen of Hearts," in a soaring rendition, with gorgeous backing by Annie Sutton, Erin Dickins, and Lynn Rubin, and superb sax work by Randall Bramblett and David Brown, that shows Allman in his glory as a singer and bandleader. Allman gives a lively, raucous, honky tonk-style rendition of the Elvis Presley hit "I Feel So Bad," complete with a killer guitar solo by Tommy Talton, and "Turn on Your Lovelight" gets an extended treatment worthy of the Allman Brothers Band. One would expect that, with Chuck Leavell and Jaimoe present in the band, there were be more similarity to the Allmans' sound, and that they'd be prominently featured, but Tommy Talton and bassist Kenny Tibbetts get more of a spotlight. Several Allman Brothers songs are present here, in more laid-back and lyrical versions, and the Capricorn Records band Cowboy -- essentially serving as the core of Allman's touring band -- gets a featured spot with two songs, "Time Will Take Us" and "Where Can You Go," that leave one wanting to hear a lot more concert material from them, and from Talton as a singer. The Gregg Allman Tour was reissued on CD in late 2001 by Polydor in a clearer, sharper remastered edition that contains Martin Mull's complete introduction of the band.

01. Don't Mess Up A Good Thing 5:06
02. Queen Of Hearts 7:43
03. I Feel So Bad 4:47
04. Stand Back 3:32
05. Time Will Take Us - Cowboy 5:51
06. Where Can You Go? - Cowboy 8:10
07. Double Cross 4:41
08. Dreams 7:29
09. Are You Lonely For Me Baby 4:27
10. Turn On Your Love Light 10:45
11. Oncoming Traffic 5:56
12. Will The Circle Be Unbroken

Download from Folder

   Comments: 0 | Views: 2718 |
    Related Releases:     
  • The Allman Brothers Band - The Allman Brothers Band (1969) [Remastered 2012 ...
  • Gregg Allman - Low Country Blues [HDtracks]
  • Gregg Allman - Low Country Blues (2011)
  • The Allman Brothers – Colour Collection (2007)
  • Gregg Allman - New Orlean Jazzfest Live (2011)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?