Lossless music download

Michael Shrieve - Two Doors (1995)

Jazz | Author: indeep1 | 25-02-2013, 17:26
Michael Shrieve - Two Doors (1995)
Artist: Michael Shrieve
Title Of Album: Two Doors
Year Of Release: 1995
Label: CMP Records
Genre: Jazz, Jazz-Rock, Jazz Fusion
Format: Flac/Cue/Log/Artwork
Quality: Lossless
Total Time: 77:10
Total Size: 466 MB(+3%)


1. Stellar Rays
2. Deep Umbra
3. Sorcerer
4. Baraji
5. Caress Of Lillith
6. The Smiling Tarshishm
7. Juvalamu
8. Palace Of Dreams
9. Locomotion
10. Data Trash
11. Stella
12. Your Saviour
13. Pipeline
14. Crocodile
15. Lincoln Logs
16. First Train
17. Queen Bee
18. Flying Polly
19. Stella (Reprise)
Michael Shrieve - Two Doors (1995)
personnel :

Michael Shrieve - drums
Wayne Horvitz - organ
Bill Frisell - guitar
Shawn Lane - guitar
Jonas Hellborg - bass

Former Santana drummer Michael Shrieve's 1995 release Two Doors is appropriately titled, for it is really two albums in one, with two different trios providing the music. The first half of the record, subtitled "Deep Umbra," features Shrieve with guitarist Shawn Lane and bassist Jonas Hellborg performing eight jazz-rock compositions full of catchy themes and fiery improvisations. Lane is, simply put, one of the most technically gifted guitarists ever to pick up the instrument, and he records far too obscurely and infrequently. It is to his great credit that he never displays his abilities gratuitously, but instead carefully measures them out for maximum impact. He is a consummate musician. The same could be said about Hellborg, who not only holds down the bottom end with his sensitive yet powerful bass, but also shares co-writing credits for seven of the eight songs that he appears on. The second half of the record, subtitled "Flying Polly," features Bill Frisell and Wayne Horvitz. This half of the record is jazzier and more avant-garde than the first half, and frankly doesn't work nearly as well. There are moments where some of the rockabilly jazz elements that Frisell and Horvitz explored in John Zorn's Naked City come to the foreground, but, besides that, most of this portion of the record sounds flat and uninspired. It is a shame that this had to be the case, especially considering how good the Lane-Hellborg trio is. However, Shrieve's drums are very nicely recorded, and he always plays the most appropriate thing for any given song, never showboating or otherwise distracting from the integrity of the composition. There is much merit in this frustratingly inconsistent album, and for fusion fans it is worth searching out. ~ Daniel Gioffre

You Must Register Before You Can View This Hide Text For Download.

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1291 |
    Related Releases:     
  • VA - Breaking the Barriers of Jazz: The CMP Story Volume One (1997)
  • Bill Frisell - In Line (1982)
  • Lee Konitz/Bill Frisell/Gary Peacock/Joey Baron - Enfants Terribles: Live a ...
  • Michael Shrieve - Stiletto (1989)
  • Wayne Horvitz & Zony Mash - Upper Egypt (2000)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?