Lossless music download

The Fatback Band - Hustle! The Ultimate Fatback 1969-84 [2CD Remastered] (2004)

Jazz, Pop | Author: artmuss | 6-12-2019, 11:23
The Fatback Band - Hustle! The Ultimate Fatback 1969-84 [2CD Remastered] (2004)
Artist: The Fatback Band
Title Of Album: Hustle! The Ultimate Fatback 1969-84
Year Of Release: 2004
Label: Southbound / CDSWM2-141
Genre: Funk, Soul, R&B, Disco
Total Time: 2:00:56
Format: FLAC (tracks +.cue, log-file)
Quality: Lossless
Total Size: 797 mb

For those looking for a compilation with about twice as much music as the best previous Fatback best-of (Rhino's 1997 single-CD The Fattest of Fatback) offered, the double-CD Hustle! The Ultimate Fatback 1969-84 does the trick. It's actually missing a few songs that appeared on the Rhino comp, but there's no arguing with the good value it supplies, with 31 songs and about two hours of music. It also includes a number of items from their early, more soul-funk-oriented career in particular that escaped inclusion on the Rhino release, which covered the narrower era of 1975-1983. That leaves room for quite interesting items like the 1974 single "Wicki-Wacky" (with its delightful jazzy scat vocals), Fatback Brother Bill Curtis' 1973 single "Dance Girl" (which benefits from similar jazzy singing), the seriously boogalooing 1973 instrumental "Soul March," and the James Brown-Jackson 5-influenced 1971 Johnny King & the Fatback Band single "Peace, Love Not War"/"Keep On Brother Keep On." But the major hits and misses that most fans would regard as essential are here, including "Spanish Hustle," "(Are You Ready) Do the Bus Stop," "I Found Loving," "Backstrokin'," "I Like Girls," "Gotta Get My Hands on Some Money," "Is This the Future?," and the seminal 1979 proto-rap track "King Tim III (Personality Jock)" (actually issued as a B-side). You could offer a couple of minor complaints about the packaging: the track sequencing follows a random chronology rather than a straight progression, and although the title indicates a 1969-1984 time span, actually the first cuts here are from the aforementioned 1971 Johnny King & the Fatback Band single. Otherwise, it's a well-annotated march through the act's history as Fatback journeyed from soul and funk to disco and rap, never breaking through to the top tier of R&B acts, but always reflecting the mutations black popular music itself was going through from the early '70s to the mid-'80s. (allmusic.com)


Disc 1
01. Keep On Brother Keep On
02. Peace Love And Not War
03. Street Dance
04. Fatbackin'
05. Njia (Nija) Walk (Street Walk)
06. Soul March
07. Dance Girl
08. Wicky Wacky
09. Keep On Stepping
10. Yum Yum
11. Feed Me Your Love
12. Got To Learn How To Dance
13. (Are You Ready) To Do The Bus Stop
14. Party Time
15. Spanish Hustle
16. Put Your Love In My Tender Care

Disc 2
01. Night Fever
02. Double Dutch
03. I Like Girls
04. You're My Candy Sweet
05. King Tim Iii (Personality Jock)
06. Gotta Get My Hands On Some (Money)
07. Backstrokin
08. Let's Do It Again
09. Angel
10. Take It Any Way You Want It
11. On The Floor
12. She's My Shining Star
13. Is This The Future
14. Spread Love
15. Girl Is Fine
16. I Found Loving



:: MusicMuss ::

   Comments: 1 | Views: 1778 |
    Related Releases:     
  • The Fatback Band - Fatbackin' [The Perception Sessions] (2001)
  • The Fatback Band - Original Funk: the Best Of (2005)
  • VA - Best of Perception & Today Records compiled by DJ Spinna and BBE Sound ...
  • The Fatback Band - The Fattest Of Fatback (1997)
  • VA - We Got The Funk [3CD BoxSet] (2002)

  • #1: frank (5 March 2013 01:57)

    group: Visitors
    registration: 2.09.2011
    Very nice my friend! Many thanks!!!

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?