Lossless music download

Dyke & The Blazers - We Got More Soul: The Ultimate Broadway Funk [2CD] (2007)

Jazz | Author: artmuss | 30-11-2019, 15:32
Dyke & The Blazers - We Got More Soul: The Ultimate Broadway Funk [2CD] (2007)

Artist: Dyke & The Blazers
Title Of Album: We Got More Soul - The Ultimate Broadway Funk
Year Of Release: 2007
Label: BGP Records / CDBGP2 180
Genre: Funk, Soul, Jazz
Total Time: 2:23:06
Quality: FLAC (*tracks+.cue,log)
Quality: Lossless
Total Size: 671 mb

Subtitled The Ultimate Broadway Funk, no one's going to beat this as the ultimate Dyke & the Blazers compilation. The two-CD, two-hour-and-20-minute set has everything they released on 45 or LP between 1967-1970, including unedited full-length versions of seven of their singles, no less than 13 previously unissued tracks, and even some radio station promos. It could be that less intense funk/Dyke fans might wish for a more succinct single-disc comp concentrating on the official singles, especially as, like many single-artist funk anthologies, the grooves get a little similar-sounding over the course of two-plus hours. Then again, if you like the group enough to get a Dyke & the Blazers collection in the first place, you might well be the type who thrives on such lengthy dwellings on the primeval funk groove. And as such grooves went, few were better (and very few artists, if any other than James Brown, did them earlier) or earthier than Dyke & the Blazers, even if it turns out that session musicians (including members of the Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band) often played the parts of the Blazers in the studio. The anthology is conveniently divided into one disc of their 1966-1967 sessions (all held in Phoenix, where the band was based at the time) and a second of their 1968-1970 sessions (which all took place in Hollywood), though the quality remains consistent throughout. That counts the many unreleased tracks, which are generally up to the standard of what the band officially released, including some (like the ultra-kinetic -- if marred by some out-of-tune horns -- &"She Knows It," the upbeat "Let's Do It Together," and the untypical serious ballad "Why Am I Treated So Funky Bad?") that would have ranked among their more interesting efforts had they been issued at the time. Alec Palao's magnificent liner notes are the most thorough history of the band yet put to print, including a detailed sessionography.


Disc 1
01. Funky Broadway (Parts 1 and 2)
02. So Sharp
03. Swamp Walk
04. Broadway Combination
05. Uhh (Parts 1 and 2)
06. Extra Funk
07. City Dump
08. Don't Bug Me
09. Funky Broadway Time (Part 1)
10. Funky Broadway Time (Part 2)
11. She Knows It
12. Why Am I Treated So Funky Bad
13. Triple Funk
14. The Wrong House
15. KGFJ Promos

Disc 2
01. We Got More Soul
02. Booga Jivin'
03. The Wobble
04. Bring It On Back
05. Shot Gun Slim
06. Funky Bull (Parts 1 and 2)
07. Black Boy
08. It's Your Thing
09. Let A Woman Be A Woman, Let A Man Be A Man
10. Funky Walk (Parts 1 and 2)
11. Soul Cake
12. Stuff
13. My Sisters' and My Brothers' Day Is Comin'
14. Moon
15. You Are My Sunshine
16. Let's Do It Together
17. I'm So All Alone
18. Runaway People



:: MusicMuss ::

   Comments: 0 | Views: 4232 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Dyke & The Blazers - So Sharp! (1991)
  • Rufus Thomas - The Funkiest Man ,The STAX funk Sessions 1967-1975 (2002)
  • Earl Van Dyke - The Motown Sound - The Complete Albums & More (2012)
  • Rufus Thomas - Do The Funky Chicken (1970) [2011 Remastered]

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?