Lossless music download

Black - The Collection (2000)

Pop | Author: artmuss | 14-05-2013, 20:14
Black - The Collection (2000)

Artist: Black
Title Of Album: The Collection
Year Of Release: 2000
Label: Spectrum Records
Genre: Pop Rock, Synth-Pop
Total Time: 1:17:30
Format: FLAC (tracks +.cue, log-file)
Quality: Lossless
Total Size: 500 mb (Covers)

Formed in Liverpool, England in 1980, the pop group Black was primarily a vehicle for singer/songwriter Colin Vearncombe, who first emerged at the age of 16 in the punk unit the Epileptic Tits. The first incarnation of Black, consisting of Vearncombe and a cast of anonymous session players, debuted with the single "Human Features" on the local Rox label. The record quickly sold out, and soon Vearncombe was approached by the Eternal label, operated by fellow Liverpudlians Pete Wylie and Wah! With the addition of ex-Last Chant keyboardist Dave Dickie and bassist Jimmy Sangster, Black became a true band, and soon issued their sophomore effort "More Than the Sun."

The trio eventually came to the attention of WEA, which funded Black's third single "Hey Presto." The record stiffed, however, and when an orchestral rendition of "More Than the Sun" met a similar fate, Black were dropped from their contract. Although he continued on as producer, Dickie soon relinquished his performing duties, and the fate of the group looked grim. Some 18 months of writing and searching for a new record deal followed before Vearncombe was contacted by the tiny Ugly Man label, which issued the minor hit "Wonderful Life." Soon A&M came calling, and in 1987 Black scored a UK Top Ten hit with "Sweetest Smile; " the follow-up, a reworked "Wonderful Life," was also successful.

The group's debut LP, also titled Wonderful Life, appeared in late 1987, and was well-received throughout Europe. Black's sophomore effort, the Robin Millar-produced Comedy, followed in 1988, but failed to match the success of its predecessor; after a long hiatus and a number of line-up changes, the group finally resurfaced in 1991 with an eponymously-titled LP featuring cameos from Robert Palmer and Sam Brown. Black soon left A&M, and after teaming with producer Mike Hedges issued Are We Having Fun Yet? on their own mail order label Nero Schwartz in 1993.


01. Wonderful Life
02. Paradise
03. Big one
04. Now you're gone
05. All we need is the money
06. Let me watch you make love
07. She's my best friend
08. Sweetest smile
09. Finder
10. It's not over yet
11. Hey I was right you were wrong
12. Ravel in the rain
13. Everything is coming up roses
14. You don't always do what is best for you
15. You're a big girl now
16. Here it comes again
17. I just grew tired
18. Just making memories

   Comments: 0 | Views: 931 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Black Sabbath - Heaven And Hell 1980 (2CD Deluxe Edit. Sanctuary Rec. Group ...
  • Robert Plant & The Band Of Joy - Live From The Artists Den (2012)
  • Charles Mingus - The Black Saint And The Sinner Lady (1963)
  • Atrocity - Cold Black Days (Single) 2004
  • Black Destiny - Black Is Where Our Hearts Belong (2000)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?