Lossless music download

Devo - Hardcore (2013)

Electronic, Alternative, Rock, Punk | Author: artmuss | 29-08-2013, 11:48
Devo - Hardcore (2013)
Artist: Devo
Title Of Album: Hardcore
Year Of Release: 2013
Label: Superior Viaduct / SV026
Genre: New Wave, Post-Punk, Alternative, Experimental
Total Time: 2:01:16
Format: FLAC (tracks + log-file)
Quality: Lossless
Total Size: 759 mb

DEVO s Hardcore documents the group s beginning as pre-punk outcasts in the fertile Akron, Ohio, underground rock scene. Spawned at the nearby college of Kent State, site of the infamous May 4 Massacre, DEVO formed as a conceptual art project armed with the radical philosophy of de-evolution. Brothers Mothersbaugh (Mark, Bob and Jim) and Brothers Casale (Jerry and Bob) along with drummer Alan Myers soon whipped up an otherworldly brand of devolved blues that could hold its own alongside the beatnik groove of 15-60-75 (a.k.a. The Numbers Band) or the primal rock poetry of The Bizarros. Recorded on various four-track machines and in tiny studios, basements and garages between 1974 and 1977, Hardcore reveals their strikingly clear vision: rock n roll stripped bare of its collective cool and jerked back into propaganda fit for post-modern man. It s no surprise that these transmissions would soon catch the eye and ear of Brian Eno, who later produced their landmark 1978 debut album. Noisy synth, strangled guitar chops and a primitive rhythmic thud power the early DEVO sound. Threaded beneath it all are lyrical themes of post-McCarthy paranoia, middle-class ephemera and DEVO s long-running topic of choice: sex, or lack thereof. Few moments in pop music history can match the grinding, pent-up energy of Mongoloid and the spastic bounce and sputter of Jocko Homo (two anthems presented in their earlier and superior versions here). Cult favorites like Mechanical Man and Auto-Modown make Hardcore essential listening. Digging further into the band s cranial bunker, one finds the caveman hit Be Stiff, the space age surf-blues of Clockout and even a demented take on bubblegum pop, Goo Goo Itch. This 2xCD set includes four previously unreleased tracks: Man from the Past, Doghouse Doghouse, Hubert House and Shimmy Shake. From Henry Rollins s liner notes to the CD version: Hardcore is not some barrel-bottom scrape in a desperate attempt to pilfer your billfold! This is pure DEVO the sweetest crude, straight from the source! Superior Viaduct and Booji Boy Records are proud to present DEVO s Hardcore to a new generation of spuds, lovingly packaged with Moshe Brakha s stunning cover photography. As David Bowie said in 1977, DEVO is indeed the band of the future.


Disc: 1
01. Mechanical Man
02. Auto Modown
03. Space Girl Blues
04. Social Fools
05. Soo Bawls
06. (I Can t Get No) Satisfaction
07. Jocko Homo
08. Golden Energy
09. Buttered Beauties
10. Midget
11. I m a Potato
12. Uglatto
13. Stop Look and Listen
14. Ono
15. Mongoloid

Disc: 2
01. Booji Boy s Funeral
02. Can U Take It?
03. Bamboo Bimbo
04. A Plan for U
05. The Rope Song
06. Goo Goo Itch
07. Be Stiff
08. All of Us
09. Baby Talkin Bitches
10. I Need a Chick
11. U Got Me Bugged
12. Chango
13. Fraulein
14. Dogs of Democracy
15. 37
16. Bottled Up
17. Working in the Coal Mine
18. I Been Refused
19. Fountain of Filth
20. Clockout
21. Let s Go
22. Man From the Past
23. Doghouse Doghouse
24. Hubert House
25. Shimmy Shake

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1587 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Scooter - Our Happy Hardcore (20 Years Of Hardcore) [Expanded & Remastered] ...
  • Hardcore Superstar - C'mon Take on Me (2013)
  • Polar Bear Club - Clash Battle Guilt Pride (2011)
  • Pupo - Lo Devo Solo A Te (1981)
  • Devo - Something For Everybody [Japan] 2010

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?