Lossless music download

Wynton Marsalis – The Spiritual Side of Wynton Marsalis (2013)

Jazz, Blues | Author: artmuss | 12-01-2014, 16:57
Wynton Marsalis – The Spiritual Side of Wynton Marsalis (2013)
Artist: Wynton Marsalis
Title Of Album: The Spiritual Side of Wynton Marsalis
Year Of Release: 2013
Label: Columbia/Legacy
Genre: Contemporary Jazz, Post-Bop, Gospel
Total Time: 50:06 min
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Quality: Lossless
Total Size: 280 mb

2013 release, a self-curated collection from the Jazz trumpet virtuoso and Grammy winner. Spiritual Side Of... is companion piece to an unprecedented U.S. tour he put together reaching 16 cities and featuring over 85 musicians including the 70-member New York-based Chorale le Chateau Gospel choir and the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra.

Review by Matt Collar
As a New Orleans native, trumpeter/composer Wynton Marsalis has long incorporated a wide array of spiritual music into his own straight-ahead jazz. Even his earliest recordings, such as Black Codes (From the Underground) and The Majesty of the Blues, evinced the influence of gospel music, religious hymns, and New Orleans funeral processionals. Though raised in the Catholic church, Marsalis' professed take on religion has always been a holistic invocation of God, a sense of spirituality that connects all human beings -- at least as far as his music and liner notes have revealed. Inspired by the social activism of Martin Luther King, Jr., and directly influenced by the spiritually and socially conscious jazz of John Coltrane (A Love Supreme) and Duke Ellington (Sacred Concerts), Marsalis began writing his own explicitly spiritual-themed compositions beginning with 1994's In This House, On This Morning. The 2013 compilation The Spiritual Side of Wynton Marsalis brings together tracks off that album, as well as other divinely themed tracks Marsalis recorded during the '90s and 2000s. Formatted to evoke the rhythms and flow of a New Orleans funeral function, the compilation works as a soulful overview of this vital side of Marsalis' career. Included here are both small and large ensemble recordings from such albums as 1997's Pulitzer Prize-winning Blood on the Fields, 1999's Reeltime, 2002's All Rise, and more.


1. I Hear A Knockin' (Solo) 0:51
2. All Rise XII: I Am (Don't You Run From Me) 2:45
3. If I Hold On 1:40
4. Processional 4:34
5. Psalm 26 1:37
6. Awakening 2:19
7. Hymn 4:12
8. Precious Lord, Take My Hand (Previously Unreleased) 6:24
9. In The Sweet Embrace Of Life Sermon: Holy Ghost 6:58
10. Flee As A Bird To The Mountain 3:14
11. Sing On 2:50
12. Benediction 3:27
13. Oh We Have A Friend In Jesus 1:41
14. To Higher Ground 4:47
15. Pot Blessed Dinner 2:40

   Comments: 0 | Views: 955 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Wynton Marsalis - Reeltime (1996)
  • Wynton Marsalis - Wynton Marsalis (1981)
  • Wynton Marsalis - The Majesty Of The Blues (1989)
  • Wynton Marsalis & Ellis Marsalis - Joe Cool's Blues (1995)
  • Wynton Marsalis And Eric Clapton Play The Blues Live From Jazz At Lincoln C ...

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?