Lossless music download

VA - Golden Gate Groove: The Sound of Philadelphia Live in San Francisco 1973 (2012)

Jazz | Author: artmuss | 26-01-2014, 14:25
VA - Golden Gate Groove: The Sound of Philadelphia Live in San Francisco 1973 (2012)
Artist: Various Artists
Title Of Album: Golden Gate Groove: The Sound of Philadelphia Live in San Francisco 1973
Year Of Release: 2012
Label: Philadelphia International/Legacy / 88691906232
Genre: Soul, Funk, Rhythm & Blues
Total Time: 1:15:13
Format: FLAC (tracks +.cue, log-file)
Quality: Lossless
Total Size: 431 mb (Covers)

Philadelphia International Records (P.I.R) was the most influential modern black music company of the 1970s. The label sold tens of millions of albums and singles through its marketing, promotion and distribution relationship with CBS Records before CBS was sold to Sony.

Golden Gate Groove: The Sound Of Philadelphia Live 1973 documents the first -- and only -- time that the stars of Philadelphia International Records ever played in concert with the label's fabled house band, known as MFSB.

The concert took place in San Francisco during the annual CBS Records convention at the Fairmont Hotel in September 1973. The power and drama of the performances by THE O'JAYS, HAROLD MELVIN & THE BLUE NOTES, THE THREE DEGREES, BILLY PAUL and MFSB inspired and motivated the CBS staff to launch the juggernaut that would become the Sound of Philadelphia -- affectionately known as T.S.O.P.


01) Introduction by Master of Ceremonies Don Cornelius of Soul Train (01:35)
02) MFSB - Freddie's Dead (04:30)

Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes Featuring Bernard Wilson, Lawrence Brown, Lloyd Parks & Theodore Pendergrass, Jr.
03) If You Don't Know Me By Now (04:11)
04) The Love I Lost (05:05)
05) I Miss You (11:32)

The Three Degrees Featuring Fayette Pinkey Sheila Ferguson & Valerie Holiday
06) I Didn't Know (02:52)
07) Dirty Ol' Man (04:31)

08) T.S.O.P. (The Sound Of Philadelphia) (02:31)
Theme From Soul Train

Billy Paul
09) East (10:21)
10) Me And Mrs. Jones (08:34)

The O'Jays Featuring Eddie Levert Walter Williams & William Powell
11) Back Stabbers (04:41)
12) When The World's At Peace (05:52)
13) Sunshine (05:53)
14) Love Train (03:37)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1010 |
    Related Releases:     
  • MFSB - Love Is The Message [Expanded & Remastered] (2012)
  • Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes - Collection 1972-2004
  • VA - Philadelphia International Records The 40th Anniversary Box Set [10CD] ...
  • VA - Philadelphia International Classics: The Tom Moulton Remixes [Box set] ...
  • Larry Carlton - Plays The Sound Of Philadelphia (2010)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?