Lossless music download

Hubert Laws - Land of Passion (2013)

Jazz, Pop | Author: vicor 61 | 25-02-2014, 11:31
Hubert Laws - Land of Passion (2013)

Artist: Hubert Laws
Title Of Album: Land of Passion
Year Of Release: 2013 (1979)
Label: Wounded Bird Records | WOU 5708
Genre: Crossover Jazz, Jazz-pop, Vocal Jazz
Quality: FLAC (tracks)
Bitrate: Lossless
Total Time: 40:54
Total Size: 302 MB (Covers)

Review by Alex Henderson:
When Columbia released Land of Passion in 1979, the album received scathing reviews from jazz critics. They knew Hubert Laws for his work as a jazz instrumentalist, and for the most part, Land of Passion isn't instrumental jazz -- it isn't hard bop, post-bop, or even fusion. The main focus of this LP is mellow, mildly jazzy R&B/pop (with the occasional instrumental). So serious jazz standards shouldn't be applied. Unfortunately, the critics who trashed Land of Passion did apply serious jazz standards, which is sort of like a food critic lambasting an Italian restaurant because it doesn't provide Vietnamese or Cambodian cuisine. Land of Passion needs to be judged by R&B/pop and quiet storm standards, and when those standards are applied, one has to say that this record is likable but not mind-blowing. Laws was obviously going after the quiet storm crowd when he recorded gentle tunes like "Music Forever" and "We're in Ecstasy." Arguably, quiet storm music falls into two main categories: R&B/pop vocals (Luther Vandross, Phyllis Hyman, Anita Baker) and R&B-minded crossover jazz (Grover Washington, Jr., David Sanborn, Lonnie Liston Smith). For the most part, this LP (which had yet to be reissued on CD when the 21st century arrived) falls into the former category, although it does contain two gently funky instrumentals: "We Will Be" and "Heartbeats." Neither are masterpieces, but they have a lot more substance and integrity than the sort of elevator Muzak that Kenny G and Richard Elliot were known for in the 1980s and 1990s. Not one of Laws' essential releases, Land of Passion must be taken for what it is: a pleasant but unremarkable collection of mood music.


01. Music Forever (Laws) - 5:22
02. Land of Passion (Laws) - 5:57
03. We're in Ecstasy (Laws) - 7:16
04. Heartbeats (Laws) - 6:47
05. The Key (Laws) - 7:09
06. We Will Be (Laws) - 4:57
07. Land of Passion (Single Edit) (Laws) - 3:26

Patrice Rushen, Barnaby Finch (#6) - piano
Roland Bautista, Pat Kelley (#6), Melvin Robinson (#6) - guitar
James Jameson - bass
Bobby Vega - electric bass (#6)
Leon "Ndugu" Chancler, Raymond Pounds (#6) - drums
Victor Feldman - percussion
Larry Dunn - synthesizer
Ronnie Laws - saxophone, Moog synthesizer (#6)
Debra Laws, Johnny Laws, Eloise Laws, Blanch Laws - vocals
Hubert Laws - flute, alto flute
Arnold Belnick, Bonnie Douglas, Janice Dower, Endre Granat, Sandy Seymour, Robert Sushel, Paul Shure, Marcia Van Dyke, Dorothy Wade - strings & violins
Raymond Kelly, Ron Cooper, Nils Oliver - cello
Oscar Brashear, Raymond Brown, Bobby Bryant, Snooky Young - brass
Garnett Brown, Benny Powell, Maurice Spears - trombone

Recorded in October - December 1978.

Download / Скачать:


   Comments: 0 | Views: 822 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Llew Matthews Trio & Hubert Laws - A Certain Smile (1998) 2013 Mini-LP Japa ...
  • Ronnie Laws - True Spirit (1990)
  • Hubert Laws - In The Beginning (1974)
  • RONNIE LAWS - Mr. Nice Guy (1983,remaster 2004)
  • Hubert Laws - In The Beginning (1974/2011)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?