Lossless music download

Aisha Kandishas Jarring Effects - Koyo Habib (2000)

Electronic | Author: artmuss | 1-03-2014, 00:30
Aisha Kandishas Jarring Effects - Koyo Habib (2000)
Artist: Aisha Kandishas Jarring Effects
Title Of Album: Koyo Habib
Year Of Release: 2000
Label: Barraka El Farnatshi / Barbarity019
Genre: Worldbeat, Trance, Future Jazz, Downtempo
Total Time: 68:55 min
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Quality: Lossless
Total Size: 515 mb

Review by Don Snowden
Losing longstanding guitarist and "initiator" El Habib El Malak to the political world in Marrakesh dramatically shifted Aisha Kandisha's Jarring Effects toward the techno textures slant of keyboard player Cheb Youssef on Koyo Habib. Sequenced together as if by a DJ working in the booth, the music loses its distinctiveness pretty quickly unless you're into multiple keyboard sounds that probably work in hip European or Moroccan roll discos. It's not as if Aisha Kandisha's Jarring Effects hasn't been moving in this direction in recent years or that Cheb Youssef lacks chops. The propulsive groove and catchy chorus of "Skoko Sankara" followed up by the trance-jungle flavor of "Booya" is an effective enough double-barreled opening salvo. It just lacks the unique character of the group's earlier mix, where Western and Moroccan elements, pop and traditional, were thrown into the modern dancefloor blender and out came something new and intriguing that still retained the original flavors. "Koyo Koyo" has some moments with its violin melody amidst the orchestrated keyboards but -- and surprisingly for a group that started from an outlaw dub mentality -- where Koyo Habib really falls short is in the rhythm zone. Apart from the mutant reggae feel of "Maghrebia" and the tough bassline driving a punchy version of the traditional "Alou AKJE," the grooves just don't pull you into Aisha Kandisha's Jarring Effects' dancefloor world.


01 Skoko Sankara 04:05
02 Booya 04:27
03 Rfiki Ou Sdiki 03:21
04 Habibi Maja 03:40
05 Sh Hal Ou Sh Hal 01:28
06 Daka 02:52
07 Bab Alien 04:29
08 Koyo Koyo 04:51
09 Alou Akje 03:24
10 Eva Electra 05:03
11 Enti Kandisha Enti 03:55
12 Zamane 04:54
13 Hia Hia 03:03
14 Chuppa Lol 04:07
15 Geltlik Ji 02:27
16 Maghrebia 06:21
17 Acid Mllah 06:26

   Comments: 0 | Views: 789 |
    Related Releases:     
  • The David Wells & Chris Geith Project - No Side Effects (2013)
  • Jeff Parker Trio - Bright Light In Winter (2012)
  • Eric Bibb & Habib Koite - Brothers In Bamako (2012)
  • Stevie Wonder - A Time To Love (2005)
  • Brain Damage & High Tone - High Damage (2012)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?