Lossless music download

Zhane - Pronounced Jah-Nay (1994)

Jazz, Pop | Author: artmuss | 26-04-2014, 14:42
Zhane - Pronounced Jah-Nay (1994)
Artist: Zhane
Title Of Album: Pronounced Jah-Nay
Year Of Release: 1994
Label: Motown
Genre: R&B, Neo Soul, Jazz, New Jack Swing
Total Time: 56:47 min
Format: FLAC (tracks +.cue, log-file)
Quality: Lossless
Total Size: 386 mb (Covers)

Review by Jose F. Promis
In late 1993, the R&B vocal duo Zhané scored a Top Ten pop hit with the '70s Philly soul meets disco meets '90s hip-hop R&B smash "Hey Mr. DJ," a sleek slice of earthy, sophisticated soul that stands as one of the best R&B/pop hits of the '90s. Several months later the duo issued its highly anticipated debut, Pronounced Jah-Nay, on Motown, and the album yielded hit single after hit single for the better part of a year. Melding classic soul with honey-sweet vocals, hip-hop beats, jazz, disco, and pop, the duo stood out from the onslaught of manufactured R&B acts that dominated the airwaves and pop charts in the early to mid- '90s. The duo scored a Top 20 pop hit with its follow-up single, "Groove Thang," which, although still smooth and infectious, sounds like "Hey Mr. DJ" part two. Other singles included the glorious, elegant, and sleek "Sending My Love," which also managed to crack the pop Top 40, the funky R&B hit "Vibe," and the ballad "You're Sorry Now." The duo seems to shine brightest when tackling jazz ballads, such as the Sade-ish "La, La, La" and "Off My Mind," two songs that were never hits but easily rank as the album's overlooked treasures. Pronounced Jah-Nay is definitely one of the better R&B albums of the '90s -- unfortunately, this album's success was never repeated, and that was most likely due to lousy marketing and single choices for the duo's sophomore outing, Saturday Night.


01. Hey Mr D.J. (4:11)
02. Intro (interlude) (0:37)
03. Vibe (3:31)
04. Sending My Love (3:41)
05. Sweet Taste of Love (3:50)
06. Changes (4:44)
07. You're Sorry Now (4:43)
08. Love Me Today (5:25)
09. Off My Mind (4:27)
10. La La La (5:31)
11. Groove Thang (3:56)
12. For a Reason (6:57)
13. Hey Mr D.J. (remix) (5:12)

art direction – Jonathan Clark
assistant engineering – Scott Blockland, John Buttigieg, Scott Canto, Fred Kelly, Ed Miller, Mufi, Rob Polhemus
bass – Alan Goldsher, Frank Gravis
design – Shauna Woods
drum programmer – Kay Gee
drums – Steve Williams
engineering – David Bellochio, Frank Fagnano, Angela Piva
executive production – Kay Gee, Steve McKeever, Zhané
guitar – Paul Levante
keyboards – David Bellochio, Hitmen, Voe Hitmen, Craig King, Jean Norris, Suga Pop
liner notes – Steve McKeever
mixing – Angela Piva, John VanNes
photography – James Minchin
piano – David Bellochio, Jean Norris
production – David Bellochio, Craig King, Naughty by Nature, Renee Neufville, Jean Norris, Zhané
programming – Kay Gee
strings – Renee Neufville
trumpet – Kevin Batchelor
vocals – Babyface, Kay Gee, Wendell & Face
vocals (background) – Les?

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1356 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Zhane - Saturday Night (1997)
  • Jay Soto - Stay Awhile (2007) Repost
  • John Tropea - A Simply Way To Say I Love You (1999)
  • Phoebe Snow - Albums (5CD) (Sony Japan and DCC Gold)
  • Soul Ballet - Vibe Cinema (2000)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?