Lossless music download

Ulf Wakenius - Momento Magico (2014)

Jazz | Author: jonson | 29-04-2014, 22:31
Ulf Wakenius - Momento Magico (2014)

Artist: Ulf Wakenius
Title Of Album: Momento Magico
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: ACT Music
Genre: Straight-Ahead Jazz, Contemporary, Guitar
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
Bitrate: Lossless
Total Time: 46:48
Total Size: 233 mb


01. Ballad For E.
02. Momento Magico
03. Liberetto
04. Hindustan Blues
05. Requiem For A Lost Son
06. Mali On My Mind
07. Gnossienne
08. The Dragon
09. Esperanto
10. Preludio
11. Notes For OP and Wes
12. Sugar Man
13. La Mer

Momento Magico is a solo outing from Swedish guitarist Ulf Wakenius, an exploration of three acoustic instruments—steel and nylon strung guitars and acoustic bass guitar. Wakenius undertakes this exploration across a mix of self-penned tunes and works by writers as varied as Erik Satie, Charles Trenet and Sixto Rodrigues.
Wakenius is an impressively adaptable player, who's resum? includes work with Ray Brown, Youn Sun Nah and, most famously, Oscar Peterson (The OP in "Notes For OP And Wes"). He's also the product of many diverse influences, which he acknowledges in his sleeve notes. Malian musicians such as Vieux Farka Toure ("Mali On My Mind"), instruments such as the Chinese pipa ("The Dragon") and "the beauty of France" (Trenet's "La Mer") all receive due credit.
Like many acoustic guitarists, Wakenius has a distinct left-hand squeak when sliding his fingers across the fretboard and there are times, such as on the gentle "Requiem For A Lost Son," when this extraneous noise becomes overly intrusive. It's less of an issue when Wakenius overdubs instruments or performs harder-edged tunes such as "The Dragon" or "Esperanto."
Two of the slower tunes form the high points on Momento Magico. Satie's "Gnossienne" works brilliantly—Wakenius acknowledges the minimalism of the work and creates a slow, graceful, spacious interpretation (which he describes as a "semi-Bossa Nova"). Wakenius' interpretation of Magnus Ostrom's moving "Ballad For E," written in tribute to ?strom's friend and band mate Esbjorn Svensson, is sensitive to the original version and to Svensson's memory. (Bruce Lindsay, AllAboutJazz)

Download / Скачать:


   Comments: 0 | Views: 1016 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Salif Keita - La Difference (2010)
  • Oscar Peterson - A Summer Night In Munich (1999)
  • Ulf Wakenius - Enchanted Moments (1996)
  • Ulf Wakenius Quartet - Live (2000)
  • Bebel Gilberto - Momento (2007)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?