Lossless music download

The Dells - Anthology (1999)

Jazz, Pop | Author: artmuss | 13-05-2014, 02:05
The Dells - Anthology (1999)
Artist: The Dells
Title Of Album: Anthology
Year Of Release: 1999
Label: Hip-O Records
Genre: Soul, Funk, Rhythm & Blues
Total Time: 2:23:49
Format: FLAC (tracks +.cue, log-file)
Quality: Lossless
Total Size: 952 mb

At last, a multi-label retrospective from this all-time great Chicago vocal group, featuring ALL versions of their hits Oh, What a Nite and Stay in My Corner together on CD for the first time! Plus, such classics as There Is; Always Together; I Can Sing a Rainbow/Love Is Blue; Open Up My Heart; Oh What a Day; The Love We Had (Stays on My Mind); Give Your Baby a Standing Ovation; I Miss You , and more. 35 cuts!

Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine
The Dells were one of the few groups that rode the transition from doo wop to smooth soul without missing a beat and without falling off the charts. Just as remarkably, the group did so without declining much in quality, as Hip-O's definitive double-disc Anthology proves. Throughout these 36 tracks, the music changes, from street-corner R&B to string-drenched disco-soul, but in all their incarnations, The Dells always sound wonderful. There are a handful of minor hits missing, but all the big singles -- including both the Vee-Jay and Cadet versions of "Oh, What a Nite" and "Stay in My Corner" -- are here, assembled chronologically. As such, it tells an epic story of a group whose history mirrored the story of R&B vocal groups from the '50s through the '70s. The latter-day material may pale somewhat in comparison to the band's early classics, but it holds up well against other '70s soul. The final cut, the group's surprise 1991 hit "A Heart Is a House for Love" -- their contribution to Robert Townsend's The Five Heartbeats, which was a loose tribute to The Dells themselves -- illustrates that the group sounded terrific well into their third decade of performing, which is a true sign of greatness. Anthology is a testament to their greatness, offering solid proof that they were one of the greatest vocal R&B groups of their time.


Disc: 1
1. Darling I Know (The El-Rays)
2. Dreams Of Contentment
3. Oh, What A Night (Vee-Jay Version)
4. Pains In My Heart
5. (Bossa Nova) Bird, The
6. Stay in My Corner (Vee-Jay Version)
7. O-O I Love You
8. There Is
9. Wear It On Our Face
10. Love Is So Simpl
11. Stay in My Corner (Cadet Version)
12. Always Together
13. Does Anybody Know I'm Here?
14. I Can't Do Enough
15. I Can Sing A Rainbow/Love Is Blue
16. Oh, What A Night (Cadet Version)
17. Open Up My Heart (Long Version)
18. Long Lonely Nights
19. Oh, What A Day
20. The Love We Had (Stays On My Mind)
21. The Glory Of Love

Disc: 2
1. Give Your Baby A Standing Ovation
2. My Pretending Days Are Over
3. I Miss You Listen Listen
4. I Wish It Was Me You Loved
5. Learning To Love You Was Easy
6. We Got To Get Our Thing Together
7. Slow Motion
8. Our Love
9. Betcha Never Been Loved (Like This Before)
10. Private Property
11. Super Woman
12. I Touched A Dream
13. Passionate Breezes
14. Stay in My Corner (Chi-Sound Version)
15. A Heart Is A House For Love

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1192 |
    Related Releases:     
  • The Dells - Oh, What a Nite (1959) [Japanese Edition 2006]
  • The Dells - There Is (1968) [Reissue 1989]
  • The Dells - Like It Is, Like It Was (1969)
  • The Dells - Reminiscing (2000)
  • The Dells & The Dramatics - The Dells Vs. The Dramatics (1974) [Reissue 199 ...

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?