Lossless music download

Ramsey Lewis - Songs From The Heart: Ramsey Plays Ramsey (2009)

Jazz | Author: SELMER | 6-12-2014, 06:48
Ramsey Lewis - Songs From The Heart: Ramsey Plays Ramsey (2009)
Artist: Ramsey Lewis
Title Of Album: Songs From The Heart: Ramsey Plays Ramsey
Year Of Release: 2009
Label: Concord Records
Genre: Jazz
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Bitrate: Lossless
Total Time: 01:14:50
Total Size: 376 MB


01. To Know Her Is To Love Her (8:59)
02. Touching, Feeling, Knowing (7:17)
03. Clouds In Reverie (4:02)
04. The Spark (5:46)
05. Conversation (8:34)
06. The Way She Smiles (5:45)
07. Exhilaration (9:39)
08. The Glow Of Her Charm (5:06)
09. Rendezvous (4:23)
10. Long Before She Knew (4:16)
11. Sharing Her Journey (8:30)
12. Watercolors (2:48)

Songs From the Heart is, in a word, astonishing. It finds Ramsey Lewis, after 50 years playing R&B- and pop-laced jazz piano, reinventing himself as a composer—hence the subtitle, Ramsey Plays Ramsey. The trio disc (Larry Gray, bass; Leon Joyce, drums) contains 12 straightahead tunes of extraordinary delicacy, lyricism and finesse, all sounding thoroughly fresh.
Gospel and classical have always been Lewis favorites, particularly the former, but classical takes the wheel here. That’s only natural, since two-thirds of Songs was originally commissioned for the Joffrey Ballet. Nonetheless, the Satie-like quiet of “Clouds in Reverie” and “Watercolors” is surprising, as is the formal precision of “To Know Her Is to Love Her” and the achingly lovely “Conversation.” He even nods to John Lewis, the great classical-to-jazz bridge-builder, in his bluesy but crisp attack on the romantic “The Glow of Her Charm.” Gospel still makes its presence known via “The Way She Smiles,” a happy stomp.
Lewis does bring in something from his pop immersion: instantly memorable tunes. The funky “The Spark” sinks in so immediately it seems you’ve known it for years; ditto the lithe bossa-nova “Rendezvous.” Gray and Joyce have no small part in the catchiness; the bassist offers excellent arco work on “To Know Her Is to Love Her” and an irresistible double-stop line on “Exhilaration,” while Joyce simmers with gregarious fills on “The Way She Smiles” and rock-ish backbeats throughout. Songs From the Heart is likely to rise on first listen to the top of the year’s best-of lists—and stay there. -- Michael J. West ~ JazzTimes.com

Download Ramsey Lewis - Songs From The Heart: Ramsey Plays Ramsey (2009)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1248 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Ramsey Lewis & Billy Taylor - Wee Meet Again (1989)
  • Ramsey Lewis - Plays The Beatles Songbook (2010)
  • Ramsey Lewis – Love Notes (2009)
  • Ramsey Lewis - Dance Of The Soul (1997)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?