Lossless music download

Carmen Bradford - With Respect (1995)

Jazz | Author: artmuss | 3-12-2014, 14:24
Carmen Bradford - With Respect (1995)
Artist: Carmen Bradford
Title Of Album: With Respect
Year Of Release: 1995
Label: Evidence
Genre: Vocal Jazz
Total Time: 52:40 min
Format: FLAC (tracks +.cue, log-file)
Quality: Lossless
Total Size: 310 mb

Carmen Bradford is a belter, a singer not afraid to show off her emotions or to occasionally go over the top. She toured with Count Basie's Orchestra for nine years but somehow never achieved much fame, only recording on a very irregular basis as a singer despite her strong musicality and powerful pipes. This set is a fine all-around showcase, featuring her with a variety of small groups including ensembles with either Cedar Walton or Donald Brown on piano. Among the other prominent players are vibraphonist Steve Nelson, guitarist Dori Caymmi, saxophonist Charles Owens, and (on a closing duet version of "Nature Boy") guitarist Michael O'Neill. Although it probably was not the best idea to perform "You'll Have to Swing It (Mr. Paganini)" (since Ella owns it), Bradford sounds particularly strong on the more recent and obscure material, including Chick Corea's "High Wire," Cedar Walton's "Even Steven," and Red Mitchell's "Finally." Since she has not recorded all that often since this period, With Respect is still Carmen Bradford's definitive recording.


01. Even Steven
02. Mr. Paganini
03. Look Who's Mine
04. High Wire
05. Finally
06. Maybe Now
07. Little Esther
08. Ain't No Use
09. Was I In Love Alone
10. He comes to Me for Comfort
11. Nature Boy

   Comments: 0 | Views: 677 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Carmen Bradford - Finally Yours (1997)
  • Bill Cosby Presents - Badfoot Brown And The Bunions Bradford Funeral & Marc ...
  • Cedar Walton Trio, Quartet & Quintet - Cedar! (1967)
  • Cedar Walton - Composer (1996)
  • Bobby Bradford - Love's Dream (2003)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?