Lossless music download

William Onyeabor - Vinyl Box Set 1 (2014)

Jazz, Folk | Author: artmuss | 10-12-2014, 17:16
William Onyeabor - Vinyl Box Set 1 (2014)
Artist: William Onyeabor
Title Of Album: Vinyl Box Set 1
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Luaka Bop / LB8002LP
Genre: Funk, Afrobeat, Electronic, Psychedelic
Total Time: 2:44:52
Format: FLAC (tracks, vinyl)
Quality: Lossless
Total Size: 1.39 gb (Covers)

William Onyeabor is a box set of five of the albums elusive Nigerian synth-funk pioneer William Onyeabor self-released between 1977 and 1985 — remastered and officially available for the first time. His music represents the epitome of the golden era of Nigerian funk, before he gave up a life in music to become a devout Christian. Luaka Bop released the critically acclaimed compilation Who is William Onyeabor’s in October of 2013, and has since seen the release of the documentary Fantastic Man, which was fabricated around the myth of the musician, attempts to unearth the man behind the music, which is also now a full blown live show touring the world, paying tribute to the music of William Onyeabor featuring a supergroup of Damon Albarn, David Byrne, Kele Okereke from Bloc Party, Alexis Taylor from Hot Chip, the Lijadu Sisters, Money Mark, Pat Mahoney and Sinkane. To this day, William Onyeabor has not spoken about his music in one single interview.


Crashes In Love (Original version) (1977) [12"]:
01 - Something You'll Never Forget
02 - Ride On Baby
03 - Crashes In Love
04 - Heaven & Hell
05 - Jungle Gods

Atomic Bomb (1978) [12"]:
01 - Beautiful Baby
02 - Better Change Your Mind
03 - Atomic Bomb
04 - Shame
05 - I Need You All Life

Tomorrow (1979) [12"]:
01 - Tomorrow
02 - Why Go To War
03 - Love Me Now
04 - Fantastic Man
05 - Try And Try

Great Lover (1981) [12"]:
01 - Tell Me What You Want
02 - Great Lover
03 - Love Is Blind
04 - I've Got Love

Anything You Sow (1985) [12"]:
01 - When The Going Is Smooth & Good
02 - This Kind Of World
03 - Anything You Sow
04 - Everyday

The hive of activity at Luaka Bop themed around the work of elusive Nigerian synth-funk pioneer William Onyeabor doesn't look like slowing down any time soon with the first of two comprehensive vinyl box sets arriving. First brought to wider attention on last year's hugely popular compilation Who Is William Onyeabor?, Luaka Bop's ongoing efforts have to be applauded here as five of the LPs the Nigerian artist self-released between 1977 and 1985 are remastered and made available officially for the first time. Onyeabor's debut LP Crashes In Love is present in it's originally mixed stereo form and along with four other albums, Luaka Bop make space for an additional 7", two booklets and MP3 download codes for all the music.

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1366 |
    Related Releases:     
  • William Bell - Wow... & Bound To Happen [Japan] (1997)
  • William Onyeabor - Atomic Bomb (1978)
  • William Onyeabor - World Psychedelic Classics Vol. 5: Who Is William Onyeab ...
  • VA - Booniay!! - A Compilation of West African Funk (2004)
  • Gurnemanz - Fair Margaret And Sweet William (1972)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?