Lossless music download

Thelma Jones - Second Chance - The Complete Barry & Columbia Recordings (2007)

Jazz, Blues | Author: artmuss | 13-01-2015, 16:34
Thelma Jones - Second Chance - The Complete Barry & Columbia Recordings (2007)
Artist: Thelma Jones
Title Of Album: Second Chance - The Complete Barry & Columbia Recordings
Year Of Release: 2007
Label: Kent / CDKEND-277
Genre: Soul, Funk, Rhythm & Blues
Total Time: 1:13:28
Format: FLAC (tracks +.cue, log-file)
Quality: Lossless
Total Size: 483 mb (Covers)

Aside from her 2006 album, Law of Old, this 21-track compilation contains virtually everything Thelma Jones recorded as a solo artist, including 1967-1968 singles for the Barry label; all the tracks from her 1978 Columbia LP; and a couple non-LP Columbia cuts from the same era. Jones is most known for issuing the original version of "The House That Jack Built" (included here), covered for a hit by Aretha Franklin, who frankly gave it a superior, more memorable interpretation. While this anthology shows Jones to be a solid soul vocalist, that's bound to remain the footnote for which she's known. The late-'60s Barry sides are sturdy soul with stirring vocals and a dash of orchestrated pop, but more respectable than outstanding. The final dozen tracks are all from the Columbia era, and such is their difference from the Barry material that they could almost be the work of a different artist. That's understandable, as about a decade had passed in the meantime and trends in soul music had been totally overhauled. It still makes for an incongruous juxtaposition, the production getting slicker in accordance with the musical changes of the era, Jones' vocals and the material again being more competent than noteworthy. For those who want all of Jones' 1960s and 1970s recordings in one place, however, this is almost one-stop shopping -- "almost" because one of her Barry singles, "Souvenirs of a Heartbreak" and "I Won't Give Up My Man," is represented by alternate takes of the songs.


01. Stronger
02. Never Leave Me
03. Gotta Find A Way
04. Oh, Oh, Here Comes The Heartbreak
05. Souvenirs Of A Heartbreak
06. I Won't Give Up On My Man
07. The House That Jack Built
08. Give It To Me Straight
09. Second Chance
10. Mr Fix-it
11. Salty Tears
12. You're The Song (That I Can't Stop Singing)
13. I'd Rather Leave While I'm In Love
14. Love, Look What You Got Me Into
15. I'm Lonely Enough To Try Anything Now
16. I Want What You Want
17. I Second That Emotion
18. I Can Dream
19. Now That We Found Love
20. Angel Of The Morning
21. How Long
22. Stay A While With Me

   Comments: 0 | Views: 840 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Barry White - I Love to Sing the Songs I Sing (1979)
  • Barry White - I've Got So Much To Give (1973)
  • Barry White - Barry White's Greatest Hits (1975) [Reissue 2011]
  • Barry White I've Got So Much To Give 1973 (1994)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?