Lossless music download

VA - The Rough Guide to Psychedelic Africa (2012)

Folk | Author: artmuss | 21-01-2015, 18:48
VA - The Rough Guide to Psychedelic Africa (2012)
Artist: Various Artists
Title Of Album: The Rough Guide to Psychedelic Africa
Year Of Release: 2012
Label: World Music Network / RGNET1270
Genre: Funk, Psychedelic, World
Total Time: 1:48:32
Format: FLAC (tracks +.cue, log-file)
Quality: Lossless
Total Size: 577 mb (Digital Booklet)

The 1960s and 1970s across Africa were decades defined by bright optimism and clashing sensibilities. Music plunged through the heart of this dynamic time and was a powerful tool of expression. Far-out psychedelic-sounding rock mixed with a thick dollop of deep funk and soul became the sound of a generation.

On this Rough Guide Nigerian guitar maestro Sir Victor Uwaifo employs the sweet harmonies and gently lilting textures of highlife, mixed with echoing horns and distorted guitar lines, resulting in a heady psychedelic brew. His seminal track ‘Guitar Boy’, included on this album, was a huge hit in 1966. Celestine Ukwu’s gentle track ‘Obialu Be Onye Abiagbunia Okwukwe’ also includes a highlife groove, played at a laid-back tempo and teasingly interspersed with swooping, bent notes played on a pedal steel guitar. On ‘Let Yourself Go’, Olaiya rasps and growls his vocals above tightly stacked horn lines that, along with the percussion, pound out a straight-ahead groove.

East African psychedelic music often has a darker, jazzier feel, inferred from the use of traditional modes and harmonies. Hailing from Ethiopia, Al?may?hu Esh?t?’s music is brooding Ethio-jazz with a splash of psychedelia in the form of a winding high-pitched guitar, a booming amplified bass line and interjecting keyboard figures.

This Rough Guide also includes music from musicians who have successfully re-launched their careers on the contemporary ‘world music’ scene. Enjoy the revived retro sounds of Orchestra Baobab, Orchestre Poly-Rythmo and Ebo Taylor.

To top it all off this original compilation comes with a full-length bonus album from none other than Sir Victor Uwaifo himself. First recorded in 1971, enjoy Ekassa in fully re-mastered splendour.


CD 1
02:10 | 01. Victor Olaiya's All Stars Soul International: Let Yourself Go
06:18 | 02. Celestine Ukwu: Obialu Be Onye Abiagbunia Okwukwe
03:43 | 03. Orchestre Poly-Rythmo: Pardon
05:01 | 04. Orchestra del la Paillote: Kadia Blues
03:35 | 05. Al?may?hu Esh?t?: Eruq yal?shew
05:45 | 06. Balla Et Ses Balladins: Fadakudu
06:25 | 07. Mlimani Park Orchestra: Taxi Driver
07:14 | 08. Orchestra Baobab : Nijaay
05:25 | 09. Ebo Taylor: Nga Nga
05:43 | 10. Victor Uwaifo: Guitar Boy
13:27 | 11. Rail Band: Wale Numa Lombaliya

CD 2 - Sir Victor Uwaifo - 'Ekassa' (re-mastered, bonus album)
5:21 | 01. Ekassa 28
6:43 | 02. Ekassa 34
4:00 | 03. Ekassa 31
3:23 | 04. Ekassa 32
2:31 | 05. Ekassa 25
5:08 | 06. Ekassa 38
4:01 | 07. Ekassa 24
5:45 | 08. Ekassa 26
3:47 | 09. Ekassa 35
3:07 | 10. Ekassa 29

   Comments: 0 | Views: 997 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Orchestre Poly-Rythmo De Cotonou - Volume 3: The Skeletal Essences Of Afro ...
  • VA - The Rough Guide to Klezmer (2000)
  • VA - Beginner's Guide To African Funk (2009)
  • VA – The Rough Guide to Cumbia (2013)
  • VA - The Rough Guide To African Disco (2013)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?