Lossless music download

Steep Grade - Funk Machine (2013)

Rock, Jazz | Author: artmuss | 27-01-2015, 11:09
Steep Grade - Funk Machine (2013)
Artist: Steep Grade
Title Of Album: Funk Machine
Year Of Release: 2013
Label: Steep Grade
Genre: Funk Rock, Soul
Total Time: 52:52 min
Format: FLAC (tracks +.cue, log-file)
Quality: Lossless
Total Size: 469 mb (Covers)
WebSite: amazon

New York six-piece Steep Grade has been performing in and around their home city since 2004, playing an infectious, upbeat hybrid of rock and funk, with original songs and classic covers. Instrumentally, they include trombone and saxophone alongside guitars, bass and drums, and their feelgood approach provides an unbeatable, vibrant soundtrack for sunny days in the park, driving with the windows down and, of course, the dance floor.

Their debut album "Sucker Punch" arrived back in 2006, and can still be found for sale on various sites, but for many, "Funk Machine" will be their introduction to the group - and it's a handsome way to get acquainted. Their influences appear to run the gamut, from Herbie Hancock's `70s funk excursions ("Head Hunters", "Thrust", etc.), Stevie Wonder and Funkadelic, to jam rock bands such as Phish and The Samples.

In frontman Damien Teed they've a singer with a soulful voice, with no interest in vocal acrobatics, but with ample expressive range. The rhythm section of drummer Dylan Teed and bass man Patrick McCarthy drive the music on, leaving plenty of room for lead guitarist Rob Maresca and the horns of Brian Borrelli and Marty Peters to apply the punchy dynamics that considerably elevate this 13-track collection.

They begin with "Sophie", its playful arrangement and positive vibe does much to set the tone of the album, and the following number "Girl Is Suicide" confirms our first impressions, and then adds a Santana-esque sax groove for extra pleasure. On "Evil Eye" it's the song that grabs you by the lapels, and applies a little shadow and doubt; and when it comes to the fore mentioned `classic covers' their big band, brass-driven take on Pink Floyd's "Have A Cigar" is superb.


01. Sophie
02. Girl Is Suicide
03. Evil Eye
04. Heartstomper
05. Red & 2
06. Blue Bloods
07. Funk Machine
08. Livin' Genuine
09. Have A Cigar
10. Big & Bad
11. World 1-1
12. Rob's Basement
13. Peanut Butter (Hidden Track)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 603 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Big Mean Sound Machine - Contraband (2014)
  • Herbie Hancock - Head Hunters (2001) DTS 5.1
  • Herbie Hancock - Man Child (1975)
  • Steep Canyon Rangers & Steve Martin - Rare Bird Alert (2011)
  • The Haggis Horns - Keep On Movin' (2010)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?