Lossless music download

The Vespers - Sisters and Brothers (2015)

Indie, Folk | Author: artmuss | 11-02-2015, 08:56
The Vespers - Sisters and Brothers (2015)
Artist: The Vespers
Title Of Album: Sisters and Brothers
Year Of Release: 2015
Label: Black Suit Records
Genre: Indie Folk, Bluegrass, Singer/Songwriter
Quality: FLAC (tracks)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 45:18 min
Full Size: 315 mb

After two well received but far from commercially successful releases decidedly in the roots bluegrass mode, the Vespers decided it was time for a change. The Nashville band of singing/string playing sisters (Phoebe and Callie Cryar) and rhythm section brothers (Bruno and Taylor Jones) make their new direction clear from the heavy, almost metal beats on the tellingly titled opener “Break the Cycle” to album number three. Those thumping drums could just as easily be the backbeat to Led Zeppelin’s version of “When the Levee Breaks” as they display the Vespers’ newfound boldness in their music.

Sure it’s slicker, louder and geared for a larger audience, but the Vespers have only expanded on their rustic music, not abandoned it entirely. Give credit to producer Paul Moak who bolsters the sound and tightens down the songs while staying true to the band’s backwoods origins.

With the recent popularity of First Aid Kit, the Hayden Triplets and Haim, the concept of singing sisters seems to be on something of an upswing. The Cryar siblings are just as talented. Their harmonies soar and glide as the bass and drums tumble, rumble, crash and slither behind them. Song such as “Signs” with its snappy handclaps and the peppy “You Leave Me” are more like a punkier Bangles than anything informed by mountain music and may go a little too far in the pop direction. But generally the brothers and sisters manage to keep it real through the use of acoustic guitars and banjos. These tunes have catchy choruses that mask their subtle Christian—“vesper” is an ancient word for an evening worship service– lyrical leanings.

At times this feels like Buckingham/Nicks era Fleetwood Mac with a decidedly more spiritual slant. Ultimately it’s the songs, solid production and sweet sisterly voices that both intertwine and dance around each other that push the band’s third catalog entry closer to potential radio play. That’s surely a double edged sword to fans who might consider this as selling out, but it’s one the talented Vespers handle with class, deftness and dexterity.


01. Break the Cycle (4:10)
02. We Win (3:38)
03. New Kids (2:53)
04. Sisters and Brothers (4:18)
05. Not Enough (2:52)
06. Out West (5:42)
07. Signs (2:35)
08. Cynical Soul (2:30)
09. The Curtain (4:32)
10. Please (4:21)
11. You Leave Me (2:57)
12. Thirst No More (4:50)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 715 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Soil & Pimp Sessions - Brothers & Sisters [Limited Edition] (2014)
  • The Secret Sisters – Put Your Needle Down (2014)
  • Allman Brothers Band - Brothers And Sisters 1973 (4 CD, Super Deluxe Box Se ...
  • Paul Hillier (E.P.C.C) - Rachmaninov_Vespers & Complete All-Night Vigil (H. ...
  • Pointer Sisters - Greatest Hits (1997)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?