Lossless music download

100 Proof Aged in Soul - Somebody's Been Sleeping In My Bed (1971) [Japanese Remastered 2013]

Jazz, Blues, Japan Editions | Author: artmuss | 17-02-2015, 20:01
100 Proof Aged in Soul - Somebody's Been Sleeping In My Bed (1971) [Japanese Remastered 2013]
Artist: 100 Proof Aged in Soul
Title Of Album: Somebody's Been Sleeping In My Bed
Year Of Release: 1971 / 2013
Label (Catalog#): Solid Records [CDSOL-5521]
Country: USA
Genre: Soul, Funk, Rhythm & Blues
Quality: FLAC (tracks +.cue,log)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 52:28 min
Full Size: 384 mb

100 Proof Aged In Soul -- what a name! This Detroit group is classified as one-hit wonders since they only cracked the pop Top 40 once with the alarming "Somebody's Been Sleeping In My Bed." They did, however, have some R&B hits that didn't cross over. The original lineup included Steve Mancha (born Clyde Wilson), Joe Stubbs (Levi Stubbs' brother), and Eddie Holiday. Joe and Steve handle the leads; their voices are so similar that it takes a good ear and lots of listening to discern who's who. This LP is a cornucopia of soul. The title song finds a cheated lover discovering evidence of his woman's infidelity; written by General Johnson (Chairmen of the Board), Greg Perry and Angelo Bond, the song was their second release on the Hot Wax label. Joe Stubbs does a scintillating version of Luther Ingram's "Ain't That Lovin' You (For More Reason Than One)" that's better than the original; Stubbs can be heard persuading his date to stop by his place for some fun, and she does. Steve gets to lead "She's Not Just Another Woman," a lively tune with an odd jumping beat sung in testifying fashion. Ironically, this same recording hit by another Invictus/Hot Wax group called the Eighth Day -- the same song, track and vocal; it was never released under the name 100 Proof Aged In Soul. "Too Many Cooks (Spoil the Soup)," their debut single, has a nice horn section that's complemented by a stinging rhythm section. None of the songs are fillers or stiffs; the titles are creative and the lyrics will make you chuckle. The album cover is strange: the front depicts a bird's nest holding one egg with a question mark stamped on it; the back cover depicts an empty nest with a bird lying outside flat on its back, dead. A picture of the group would have been appreciated more.


01 Somebody's Been Sleeping
02 Love Is Sweeter (The Second Time Around)
03 One Man's Leftovers (Is Another Man's Feast)
04 I've Come To Save You
05 Ain't That Lovin' You (For More Reasons Than One)
06 Not Enough Love To Satisfy
07 Age Ain't Nothing But A Number
08 She's Not Just Another Woman
09 Too Many Cooks (Spoil The Soup)
10 I Can't Sit And Wait (Til Johnny Comes Marching Home)
11 Backtrack

Bonus Tracks
12 Somebody's Been Sleeping [US Single Version]
13 Driveway
14 If I Could See the Light in the Window [Version 1]
15 90 Day Freeze (On Her Love)
16 Somebody's Been Sleeping [UK Single Edit]

   Comments: 0 | Views: 812 |
    Related Releases:     
  • The Temptations - 50th Anniversary ~ The Singles Collection 1961-1971 [Box ...
  • J.J. Johnson - The Complete Columbia J.J. Johnson Small Group Sessions (195 ...
  • VA - Can You Dig It? The '70s Soul Experience [6CD Box Set] (2001)
  • The Four Tops - The Singles+ (2000)
  • Marvin Gaye - What's Going On (40th Anniversary Super Deluxe Edition) 2011

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?