Lossless music download

Elmore James - The Classic Early Recordings 1951-1956 [3CD Box Set] (1993) [2007]

Blues | Author: vicor 61 | 30-07-2017, 15:16
Elmore James - The Classic Early Recordings 1951-1956 [3CD Box Set] (1993) [2007]
Artist: Elmore James
Title Of Album: The Classic Early Recordings 1951-1956 [3CD Box Set]
Year Of Release: 1993 (2007 Remastered, Reissue)
Label (Catalog#): Ace Records [ABOXCD 4]
Country: USA
Genre: Electric Blues, Chicago Blues, R&B
Quality: FLAC (*image+.cue+.log, scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 03:12:07
Full Size: 703 MB

Elmore James was an American blues guitarist, singer, songwriter and band leader. He was known as King of the Slide Guitar, but he was also noted for his use of loud amplification and his stirring voice.
The definitive early recordings of Elmore James, the man who changed the face of post-war slide guitar, return to the Ace catalogue with this 3CD set. A huge influence on the Rolling Stones, the Yardbirds and Fleetwood Mac, as well as being a giant on the blues scene, this set contains 71 tracks from Elmore's recordings for the Meteor, Flair and Modern labels, as well as the classic 'Dust My Broom' for Trumpet. The set includes many previously unknown and unreleased takes, plus an illustrated 40-page booklet.

Richie Unterberger, All Music Guide:
Although a few hardcore electric Chicago blues fans might take offense at the remark, Elmore James' work does not comprise the most varied discography among major bluesmen. So a single-disc survey of his material, whether it covers the first five years or so of his career (as this three-CD anthology does) or a longer period, works better as both a general introduction and a more listenable compilation than a box set does. If you're a completist who does want everything known to exist that he laid down in the studio between August 1951 and January 1956, however, this 71-track compilation is the most thorough retrospective of that era likely to be produced. In addition to including songs that were not issued in any form until after his death (and sometimes long after his passing), there are multiple takes of specific tunes, alternates, false starts, studio chatter, instrumental version, songs on which he guested for J.T. Brown and Little Johnny Jones, and so forth. Indeed, there are so many multiple versions on this release that even the liner notes take care to suggest custom-programming the CD sequence if you'd rather not hear them all in a row. For all the if-we-can-find-it-release-it mentality driving this collection, however, it really is pretty listenable, at least if you like James and early- to mid-'50s Chicago blues a lot. For one thing, it does include a couple of big hits, those being James' original 1952 version of "Dust My Broom" and the 1953 Top Ten R&B hit "I Believe." More relevantly, James played and sang consistently well even on the material that languished in the vault. Plus all those multiple versions aren't wholly repetitive; James occasionally makes changes to the lyrics and music, though the similarity of style from song to song is prevalent enough that you have to be paying close attention to catch all of these. Some fans primarily familiar with James through his Delta-soaked electric slide guitar playing (and there's plenty of that here) will also be surprised at the commercial R&B edge to many of the sides, though it's commercial in the better sense of that term, often with horns and piano urbanizing James' approach. The 40-page booklet has a wealth of information, vintage photos, and a detailed sessionography, increasing its appeal to those who want all things James. (Initially released in 1993 in long-box packaging, The Classic Early Recordings 1951-1956 was reissued by Ace in 2007 as a standard-sized three-CD set with a different cover.)


Disc One - Canton Crusade:

01. Dust My Broom [02:48]
02. Please Find My Baby (version 1) [03:05]
03. Hawaiian Boogie [02:41]
04. Please Find My Baby (version 2) [03:09]
05. Hand in Hand [02:53]
06. Long Tall Woman [02:58]
07. Rock My Baby Right [02:52]
08. One More Drink (take 1) [03:06]
09. My Baby's Gone [02:25]
10. One More Drink (take 2) [03:17]
11. Lost Woman Blues (Aka Please Find My Baby) (version 3) [03:17]
12. I Believe [03:18]
13. I Held My Baby Last Night [03:32]
14. Baby What's Wrong [02:54]
15. Sinful Woman [02:53]
16. Round House Boogie (Aka Sax Symphonic Boogie) [02:48]
17. Dumb Woman Blues [03:13]
18. Sax-Only Boogie [02:37]
19. Kicking the Blues Around (Aka Flaming Blues) [02:57]
20. I May Be Wrong [02:52]
21. Sweet Little Woman [03:01]

Disc Two - Broomdusting in Chicago:

01. Early in the Morning [02:50]
02. Can't Stop Lovin' [02:27]
03. Hawaiian Boogie (Version 2) [02:21]
04. Make a Little Love [02:52]
05. My Best Friend (take 1) [02:49]
06. Make My Dreams Come True (take 2) [02:47]
07. Make My Dreams Come True (take 3) [00:57]
08. Make My Dreams Come True (take 4) [02:48]
09. Make My Dreams Come True (take 7) [02:44]
10. Strange Kinda Feeling (take 1) [02:32]
11. Strange Kinda Feeling (take 2) [02:40]
12. Strange Kinda Feeling (take 3) [02:49]
13. Strange Kinda Feeling (take 4) [00:58]
14. Strange Kinda Feeling (take 5) [02:37]
15. Strange Kinda Feeling (take 6) [02:43]
16. Dark and Dreary (take 1) [00:28]
17. Dark and Dreary (take 2) [03:31]
18. Dark and Dreary (take 4) [02:49]
19. Quarter Past Nine [03:32]
20. Where Can My Baby Be (take 1) [00:21]
21. Where Can My Baby Be (take 8) [03:00]
22. Where Can My Baby Be (take 9) [02:58]
23. Please Come Back to Me (Sho' Nuff I Do) [03:01]
24. Sho' Nuff I Do (Session talk & false start) [01:32]
25. Sho' Nuff I Do (alternate take) [02:47]
26. Sho' Nuff I Do [02:53]
27. 1839 Blues [03:18]
28. I Got a Strange Baby (False start & chat) [01:03]
29. Canton Mississippi Breakdown [02:41]

Disc Three - Culver City to the Crescent City:

01. Standing at the Crossroads [02:50]
02. Late Hours at Midnight [02:48]
03. Happy Home [02:48]
04. Sunny Land [03:20]
05. The Way You Treat Me (Aka Mean and Evil) [02:15]
06. No Love in My Heart [02:26]
07. Dust My Blues [03:12]
08. I Was a Fool [02:53]
09. Blues Before Sunrise [02:46]
10. Goodbye (Baby) [03:01]
11. So Mean to Me (take 2) [02:39]
12. So Mean to Me (take 3) [02:38]
13. So Mean to Me (take 4) [02:31]
14. Wild About You Baby (Chat & false start) [01:02]
15. Wild About You [03:21]
16. Wild About You (Baby) [02:43]
17. Elmo's Shuffle (take 3) [03:11]
18. Elmo's Shuffle (take 4) [02:57]
19. Elmo's Shuffle (take 5) [02:37]
20. Long Tall Woman [03:41]
21. Long Tall Woman [02:54]

Elmore James - The Classic Early Recordings 1951-1956 [3CD Box Set] (1993) [2007]

   Comments: 0 | Views: 2154 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Elmore James Jr. - Old School Lover (2012)
  • Elmore James - Blues After Hours (2005)
  • - ()
  • VА - Blues Guitar Blasters (1988)
  • Elmore James - Jazz & Blues Collection (1995)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?