Lossless music download

The Flying Burrito Brothers - The Gilded Palace of Sin [Japan SHM] (2009)

Rock, Folk, Japan Editions | Author: vicor 61 | 19-04-2017, 13:27
The Flying Burrito Brothers - The Gilded Palace of Sin [Japan SHM] (2009)
Artist: The Flying Burrito Brothers
Title Of Album: The Gilded Palace of Sin [Japan SHM]
Year Of Release: 2009 (1969)
Label: Universal Music Japan [UICY-94243]
Country: USA
Genre: Country Rock, Folk Rock
Quality: FLAC (*tracks+.cue+.log)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 40:12
Full Size: 276 MB

By 1969, Gram Parsons had already built the foundation of the country-rock movement through his work with the International Submarine Band and the Byrds, but his first album with the Flying Burrito Brothers, The Gilded Palace of Sin, was where he revealed the full extent of his talents, and it ranks among the finest and most influential albums the genre would ever produce. As a songwriter, Parsons delivered some of his finest work on this set; "Hot Burrito No. 1" and "Hot Burrito No. 2" both blend the hurt of classic country weepers with a contemporary sense of anger, jealousy, and confusion, and "Sin City" can either be seen as a parody or a sincere meditation on a city gone mad, and it hits home in both contexts. Parsons was rarely as strong as a vocalist as he was here, and his covers of "Dark End of the Street" and "Do Right Woman" prove just how much he had been learning from R&B as well as C&W. And Parsons was fortunate enough to be working with a band who truly added to his vision, rather than simply backing him up; the distorted swoops of Sneaky Pete Kleinow's fuzztone steel guitar provides a perfect bridge between country and psychedelic rock, and Chris Hillman's strong and supportive harmony vocals blend flawlessly with Parsons' (and he also proved to be a valuable songwriting partner, collaborating on a number of great tunes with Gram). While The Gilded Palace of Sin barely registered on the pop culture radar in 1969, literally dozens of bands (the Eagles most notable among them) would find inspiration in this music and enjoy far greater success. But no one ever brought rock and country together quite like the Flying Burrito Brothers, and this album remains their greatest accomplishment.


01. Christine's Tune
02. Sin City
03. Do Right Woman
04. Dark End of the Street
05. My Uncle
06. Wheels
07. Juanita
08. Hot Burrito No. 1
09. Hot Burrito No. 2
10. Do You Know How It Feels
11. Hippie Boy

12. The Train Song [Bonus Track]

Japanese only SHM paper sleeve pressing. Includes one bonus track. The SHM-CD [Super High Material CD] format features enhanced audio quality through the use of a special polycarbonate plastic. Using a process developed by JVC and Universal Music Japan discovered through the joint companies' research into LCD display manufacturing SHM-CDs feature improved transparency on the data side of the disc allowing for more accurate reading of CD data by the CD player laser head. SHM-CD format CDs are fully compatible with standard CD players. 2009.

The Flying Burrito Brothers - The Gilded Palace of Sin [Japan SHM] (2009)

The Flying Burrito Brothers - The Gilded Palace of Sin [Japan SHM] (2009)



   Comments: 0 | Views: 3524 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Van McCoy - Hustle [Limited Edition] (2009)
  • Gram Parsons - GP 1973 (2012)
  • Bowling For Soup – The Great Burrito Extortion Case (2006)
  • The Rolling Stones - Steel Wheels [SHM-CD] (2010)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?