Lossless music download

Alamo Race Track - Birds at Home (2003) [Reissue 2005]

Alternative, Rock, Indie | Author: artmuss | 21-03-2015, 12:06
Alamo Race Track - Birds at Home (2003) [Reissue 2005]
Artist: Alamo Race Track
Title Of Album: Birds at Home
Year Of Release: 2003 [2005]
Label (Catalog#): Fargo Records ?[FA0054]
Country: Netherlands
Genre: Indie Rock, Alternative
Quality: FLAC (tracks +.cue,log,scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 44:26 min
Full Size: 269 mb

Originally released in 2003 but reissued in a different sleeve in 2005, Birds at Home is the debut album by Dutch pop quartet Alamo Race Track. "Don't Frighten Them" starts the album with a brief bit of echoey downtempo electronica, but after that somewhat misleading opening, the group settles down to a crisp brand of guitar-based indie rock oddly reminiscent of the early days of Brit-pop. Pre-OK Computer Radiohead and mid-period Blur are the specific touchstones, with the former most obvious on quietly tense ballads like "Short Leave" and "Life Is Great" (which also includes a bizarre banjo-led country-blues coda) and the latter on jaunty pop tunes like "Summer Holiday" and "Happy Accidents." More of the latter may have been useful, because Birds at Home enters into a rather deadening stretch about halfway through with one slow, atmospheric number after another. Things only pick up about three-quarters of the way through with the album high point "The Low End," a slinky bass-driven groove with falsetto harmonies, and the quirky "Wild Bees," a showcase for bizarre rhythmic shifts, mumbled vocals, and acoustic slide guitars which would have fit brilliantly on any Beta Band album. Unfortunately, the somnolent title track and a belated return to the semi-electronic feel of the opener in the inconclusive closer "Life Like Fire" bring the energy level right back down. A better sense of pacing and dynamics would help Birds at Home considerably, but taken on an individual basis, these well-arranged if slightly familiar-sounding tunes are encouraging enough to bode well for the band's future.


1. Don't Frighten Them (2:20)
2. Happy Accidents (3:42)
3. We Like to Go On (3:30)
4. Trunk (3:00)
5. Summer Holiday (3:14)
6. Short Leave (4:00)
7. Life Is Great (4:47)
8. Speed Up (3:16)
9. Flame It Up (2:25)
10. I Have Seen the Light (1:10)
11. The Low End (3:23)
12. Wild Bees (2:57)
13. Birds at Home (3:19)
14. Life Like Fire (3:23)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 862 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Alamo Race Track - HAWKS (2015)
  • Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds - Chasing Yesterday (2015) (Deluxe + Ja ...
  • The Birds of Satan - The Birds of Satan (2014)
  • Girls In Hawaii - Discography (2003-2008)
  • Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds – Songs From The Great White North [E ...

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?