Lossless music download

Julie London - Lonely Girl & Make Love To Me (2002)

Jazz, Pop | Author: vicor 61 | 28-03-2015, 10:02
Julie London - Lonely Girl & Make Love To Me (2002)
Artist: Julie London
Title Of Album: Lonely Girl & Make Love To Me
Year Of Release: 2002 (1956, 57)
Label (Catalog#): EMI [7243 5 41668 2 2]
Country: USA
Genre: Vocal Jazz, Traditional Pop
Quality: FLAC (image+.cue+.log, scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 58:34
Full Size: 186 MB

Lonely Girl (1956)

Liberty Records was pleasantly surprised when Julie London's debut album was such a big hit. Julie Is Her Name did contain the hit single "Cry Me a River," but each featured mellow jazz guitar and bass backing -- which was considered commercial suicide in 1955. So, instead of changing direction and recording the follow-up Lonely Girl with a full orchestra, Liberty wisely allowed London to strip the accompaniment down even more on the album by dropping the backing down to one instrument. Lone guitarist Al Viola plays gentle Spanish-tinged acoustic behind the hushed vocalist, and it suits London perfectly. While the singer was often chided for her beauty and lack of range, she deftly navigates these ballads without any rhythmic underpinnings to fall back on. London's intense focus on phrasing and lyrics recalls Chet Baker's equally telescopic approach. So while most of the album contains the usual midnight standards, London sings them in her own way. The title track is the one unfamiliar tune here, and it's a real gem, penned by Bobby Troup (he was London's producer, paramour, and future husband). The low-key Lonely Girl beat the sophomore slump and initially did almost as well in the charts as Julie Is Her Name. Instead of stripping away the guitar in order to make London's next release be the first a cappella torch album, Troup crafted Calendar Girl, a big-budget orchestral affair that was more in keeping with the thematic pop albums released at the time. ~allmusicguide

Make Love To Me (1957)

Julie London's concise and melodic versions of standards were quite popular during the latter half of the 1950s. Her subtle sensuality and lightly swinging style made for a potent combination. This album (which has not yet reappeared on CD) matches London's voice with an orchestra arranged by Russ Garcia on standards and a couple of newer tunes, including Bobby Troup's "It's Good to Want You Bad." Among the more memorable selections are "If I Could Be With You," "Alone Together," "I Wanna Be Loved" and "You're My Thrill." ~allmusicguide


Lonely Girl
01. Lonely Girl (2:35)
02. Fools Rush In (2:11)
03. Moments Like This (2:43)
04. I Lost My Sugar In Salt Lake City (2:39)
05. It's The Talk Of The Town (2:39)
06. When Your Lover Has Gone (1:58)
07. Don't Take Your Love From Me (2:47)
08. Where Or When (2:40)
09. All Alone (1:53)
10. Mean To Me (2:15)
11. How Deep Is The Ocean (2:13)
12. Remember (1:52)

Make Love To Me
13. If I Could Be With You (2:19)
14. It's Good To Want You Bad (2:35)
15. Go Slow (2:16)
16. A Room With A View (2:57)
17. The Nearness Of You (2:24)
18. Alone Together (2:06)
19. I Wanna Be Loved (2:10)
20. Snuggled On Your Shoulder (3:45)
21. You're My Thrill (1:59)
22. Lover Man (2:37)
23. Body And Soul (2:30)
24. Make Love To Me (2:30)

Julie London - Lonely Girl & Make Love To Me (2002)

Download / Скачать:



   Comments: 0 | Views: 897 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Julie London - Love Letters & Feeling Good (2004)
  • Julie London - Julie Is Her Name & Julie Is Her Name Vol. 2 (1992)
  • Julie London - Eight Classic Albums [Remastered Box Set] (2011) Lossless
  • Julie London - Cry Me A River (1995)
  • Julie London - Time For Love: The Best Of Julie London (1991)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?