Lossless music download

Skeeter Davis & NRBQ - She Sings, They Play (1986)

Folk, Pop | Author: artmuss | 31-03-2015, 12:07
Skeeter Davis & NRBQ - She Sings, They Play (1986)
Artist: Skeeter Davis & NRBQ
Title Of Album: She Sings, They Play
Year Of Release: 1986
Label (Catalog#): Rounder Records ?[CD 3092]
Country: US
Genre: Country, Folk, Pop
Quality: FLAC (tracks +.cue,log,scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 32:44 min
Full Size: 177 mb
WebSite: Album Preview

NRBQ is one of, if not arguably the only rock band that would be able to pull off a disc of original country-flavored pop songs and obscure covers. They do exactly that with legendary C&W vocalist Skeeter Davis on the appropriately titled She Sings, They Play. While the concept of the 'Q going country might initially seem incongruous, they had more than proven their adaptability as early as their second long-player, which consisted of several brilliant collaborations between the band and rockabilly legend Carl Perkins. The endearing quality of the recording likewise earned the artists the NAIRD Country Album of the Year award. Both Davis and the other prolific bandmembers penned material specifically for the project -- including two of Terry Adams' (piano/harpsichord/vocals) most poignant compositions, the opening track, "Things to You," and the achingly beautiful "How Many Years," highlighting Davis' crystalline vocals. The band also revived a tune from former NRBQ fretman Steve Ferguson called "You Don't Know What You Got Til You Lose It." The compositions that Davis contributed are among the best on She Sings, They Play. These include the tongue-in-cheek "Everybody Wants a Cowboy" -- which pokes fun at the Urban Cowboy fad of the early '80s -- as well as "Roses on My Shoulder," which is a dark tale of a little girl's abandonment by her father and the results it has on her lifestyle choices as an adult. the 'Q are augmented by several notable Nashville cats, including Buddy Emmons on pedal steel guitar and Larry Packer on fiddle. Other noteworthy inclusions are Adams' arrangement of "Someday My Prince Will Come" -- in a standard 4/4 time signature -- as well as the Bill Carlisle song "Ain't Nice to Talk Like That."


1 Things To You 2:57
2 Everybody Wants A Cowboy 2:25
3 I Can't Stop Loving You Now 2:58
4 Heart To Heart 2:11
5 Ain't Nice To Talk Like That 2:28
6 Everybody's Clown 1:45
7 Someday My Prince Will Come 2:47
8 How Many Tears 2:04
9 You Don't Know What You Got Til You Lose It 3:18
10 Roses On My Shoulder 2:38
11 Temporarily Out Of Order 2:53
12 May You Never Be Alone 2:41

Bass, Acoustic Guitar, Vocals – Joey Spampinato
Design – Scott Billington
Drums – Tom Ardolino
Engineer – Tom Mark
Guitar, Vocals – Al Anderson (2)
Liner Notes – Skeeter Davis, Terry Adams (2)
Piano, Harpsichord, Vocals – Terry Adams (2)
Producer – Joey Spampinato, Terry Adams (2)
Steel Guitar [Pedal] – Buddy Emmons
Trombone – Donn Adams
Violin – Larry Parker
Vocals – Skeeter Davis

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1395 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Skeeter Davis & Bobby Bare - Tunes for Two (1965) [2015]
  • Bryan Adams - Reckless 1984 [HDtracks Deluxe 2014 Remaster] (2014)
  • Ryan Adams - Ryan Adams (2014)
  • Peter Bradley Adams - The Mighty Storm (2014)
  • Sammy Davis Jr. & Laurindo Almeida - Sammy Davis, Jr. Sings, Laurindo Almei ...

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?