Lossless music download

Hal Blaine - Deuces, T's Roadsters & Drums [Remastered & Expanded] (2001)

Rock | Author: artmuss | 3-04-2015, 19:52
Hal Blaine - Deuces, T's Roadsters & Drums [Remastered & Expanded] (2001)
Artist: Hal Blaine
Title Of Album: Deuces, T's Roadsters & Drums
Year Of Release: 2001 ]1963\
Label (Catalog#): Sundazed Music [SC 11101]
Country: US
Genre: Surf, Rock, Rock & Roll
Quality: FLAC (tracks +.cue,log,scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 51:23 min
Full Size: 263 mb

Hal Blaine was one of the most innovative and gifted session drummers ever to come down the pike, at least the pike that was the L.A. studio scene in the '60s and '70s. Being a talented man with friends in high places, it was perhaps only natural that he managed to record a solo album or two. However, his career as a highly used session drummer and percussionist didn't leave him a whole lot of time to develop as a songwriter or singer, so it's not surprising that his solo albums are nothing to write home about, including this one. Deuces, "T's," Roadsters & Drums is the better of the two albums Blaine recorded, and it also contains the most original material. The songs are solid surf instrumentals that Blaine mostly co-wrote with album producer Lee Hazlewood, no slouch himself in the surf music composing department. In this case, the surf genre appears in the guise of the car genre, and every song on the main portion of the disc is preceded by loud drag-racing sound effects taken from the RCA library. Bad move -- the music would be much more listenable without them. It's jaunty, catchy stuff, if not terribly memorable. Blaine's percussion work lends a touch of exotica to the surf-and-drag twang of the guitars. The album sounds at times like a cross between Duane Eddy and Martin Denny. There are also several bonus tracks recorded at a different session, and they're better than many of the main album tracks. There's an R&B flavor to the latter part of the CD, with a female vocal chorus on some of the songs. And at least the extra tracks are free of car-racing sound effects.


01 - Challenger II [stereo]
02 - Green Monster [stereo]
03 - Nashville Coupe [stereo]
04 - Mr. Elliminator [stereo]
05 - Pop The Chute [stereo]
06 - Deuces T's Roadsters And Drums [stereo]
07 - Gear Change [stereo]
08 - The Phantom Driver [stereo]
09 - Gear Stripper [stereo]
10 - Big T [stereo]
11 - The Traps [stereo]
12 - Drum Brakes [stereo]

Bonus Tracks
13 - Hawaii 1963
14 - East Side Story
15 - (Dance With The) Surfin' Band
16 - The Drummer Plays For Me
17 - Bulldog Drummin'
18 - Mutiny On The Bongos
19 - The Dip
20 - How Come I Love You So Much
21 - Git It
22 - Phillzie's Frie

Bass – James Bond*, Ray Pohlman
Co-producer – Marshall Leib (tracks: 1 to 19)
Drums – Frank Capp, Hal Blaine
Guitar – Bill Pitman, Billy Strange, Carol Kaye, Glen Campbell, Howard Roberts, Tommy Tedesco
Mastered By – Bob Irwin
Percussion – Frank Capp
Piano, Organ – Russell Bridges
Producer – Lee Hazlewood (tracks: 1 to 19)
Saxophone – Steve Kreisman
Trombone – Marshall Cram, Richard Leith, Ronald Smith
Vocals – Darleen Peete, Fanita James, Gracia Nitzsche

Tracks 13-22 bonus tracks, 17-22 previously unreleased.

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1069 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Burning Babylon - Stereo Mash Up (2005)
  • Dead End Kids - Breakout (1977)
  • The Marvelettes - 23 Greatest Hits (1986)
  • The Kinks - Something Else by the Kinks [Deluxe Edition]
  • The Beach Boys - The Smile Sessions [5CD Box Set] (2011)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?