Lossless music download

Black Sun Ensemble - Lambent Flame (1989)

Rock, Progressive Rock | Author: artmuss | 17-04-2015, 11:00
Black Sun Ensemble - Lambent Flame (1989)
Artist: Black Sun Ensemble
Title Of Album: Lambent Flame
Year Of Release: 1989
Label (Catalog#): Reckless Records [CD RECK 11]
Country: US
Genre: Rock, Psychedelic Rock, Post Rock, World
Quality: FLAC (tracks +.cue,log,scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 53:58 min
Full Size: 334 mb
WebSite: Album Preview

Lambent Flame was recorded just before the core members of this band got completely lost in drugs and mysticism, which doesn't mean this release is short of references to either. The raga-influenced guitar freak-outs sometimes include chanted or howled vocals, which are sometimes in English, sometimes not. Odin Helgison's voice is generally buried beneath a swirl of guitars, which is just where it belongs, since when he is audible one can tell that his lyrics are second-rate acidhead ramblings. It's all redeemed by the flamboyant guitar work of Jesus Acedo, who unleashes mind-bending solos and even the occasional catchy melody. Another asset is Duane Norman's tasteful sax and flute playing, which gives a restrained counterpoint to the madness happening all around. Tracks like the Santana-esque "Blues for Rainer" and the Indian-inflected "Leviathan Song" show that this band actually had compositional skills when they felt like using them, and they could actually make music that was both heavy and subtle. There are just enough moments like that spread through this album to make it a keeper.


01. Celestial Cornerstone
02. Da Da Is Gaga
03. Sunset On The Sphinx
04. Three Picks In A Bottle
05. Leviathan Song
06. Lilith
07. The Burning Lamp
08. Beneath The Sapphire Sky
09. Blues For Rainer
10. Dove Of The Desert
11. Arabian Nights
12. Hurricane Isis

Artwork By [Backside Artwork] – Roosje Penfold
Bass – Michael Glidiwell
Design, Artwork By [Cover Art] – Gary Borgstedt
Drums – John Brett
Flute, Tabla, Tambura [Tamora] – Merlin
Guitar, E-bow, Vocals – Odin Helgison
Guitar, Performer [Electric And Acoustic Peacock Feathers] – Jesus Acedo
Producer – Ivan Penfold (tracks: 1 to 9)
Recorded By, Mixed By – Eric Westfall (tracks: 1 to 9)
Saxophone [Tenor, Alto], Flute – Duane Norman
Tabla, Percussion – Robert Brett
Violin – Bridget Keating

   Comments: 0 | Views: 881 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Black Sun Ensemble - The Black Sun Ensemble (1985) [Remastered 2000]
  • Golden Earring - Keeper Of The Flame (1989) [Vinyl Rip 24/192]
  • Odin - Odin (1972) [Vinyl Rip 24/192]
  • Bryce Janey - Burning Flame (2013)
  • Michael Shrieve - Stiletto (1989)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?