Lossless music download

Mike James Kirkland - Hang On In There (1972) [Reissue 1996]

Jazz, Blues, Pop | Author: artmuss | 17-04-2015, 19:41
Mike James Kirkland - Hang On In There (1972) [Reissue 1996]
Artist: Mike James Kirkland
Title Of Album: Hang On In There
Year Of Release: 1996 [1972]
Label (Catalog#): Luv N'Haight (Ubiquity) [LHCD 28]
Country: US
Genre: Soul, Funk, Rhythm & Blues
Quality: FLAC (tracks +.cue,log,scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 40:22 min
Full Size: 254 mb


As the 1960s were drawing to a close Mike James Kirkland was inspired to interject social commentary into his musical output along with a more funky- soul and experimental side to the production. First he released "Together" b/w "The prophet" on Bryan in 1971. And he followed this up with the amazing "Hang on in there" LP in 1972. The orginal album and all bonus 7" cuts are included on our re-issue.

"If we were on a bigger label we would have done amazing things," reminisces Kirkland. "But we did the best we could. I'm amazed that John Legend has decided to cover the title track of my first album, that's very cool."

After the release of Hang on In There and Doin It Right (another Luv N'Haight re-issue) Kirkland changed his name to Bo Kirkland, apparently to avoid confusion with the newly-turned-solo-artist Michael Jackson. The first single release under his new moniker, "Grandfather Clock reached #80 on theR&B charts in 1975. This was the prelude to him joining forces with Ruth Davis (formerly of the Ikettes) and the release of the classic "You're gonna get next to me" in 1976.

Unfortunately, the masters for this incredible release were in very poor condition. Ubiquity has done everything possible to clean up these ultra-rare recordings. Any remaining crackles were left in for archive purposes and because removal would have greatly affected the music.


1 What Have We Done 3:36
2 Where's The Soul Of Man? 3:09
3 Hang On In There 8:56
4 Baby I Need Your Loving 3:32
5 Give It To Me 2:48
6 Blota Blota 2:57
7 You're Gonna Share Your Love 2:30
8 It's Alright With Me 2:35
9 The Prophet 4:09
10 Together 2:42
11 Love Is 2:05

   Comments: 0 | Views: 900 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Meat Loaf - Hang Cool Teddy Bear 2CD (2010)
  • VA - These Are the Breaks: 12 Sampled Selections from the Ubiquity Vaults ( ...
  • Leon Ware - Collection 1972-2004
  • Odyssey - Hang Together [Expanded Edition] (2012)
  • Wayman Tisdale - Hang Time (2004)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?