Lossless music download

Herbie Hancock - Dis Is Da Drum (1994) [2015] [HDTracks]

HD Tracks & Vinyl, Jazz, Rap | Author: vicor 61 | 8-12-2017, 11:35
Herbie Hancock - Dis Is Da Drum (1994) [2015] [HDTracks]
Artist: Herbie Hancock
Title Of Album: Dis Is Da Drum
Year Of Release: 2015 (1994)
Label: Verve Reissues
Country: USA
Genre: Jazz-funk, Jazz-rap, Acid Jazz, Hip-Hop
Quality: FLAC (*tracks, front)
Bitrate: Lossless [24 Bit/192 kHz]
Time: 55:04
Full Size: 2,37 GB

In the 1970s, Herbie Hancock created a successful blend of jazz improvisation and contemporary funk rhythms in a succession of albums beginning with the classic Head Hunters. On Dis Is Da Drum, Hancock once again takes a dive into contemporary rhythms, in this case mid-'90s hip-hop. While the blend was not as commercially successful this time around as his crossover forays of twenty years earlier had been, the resulting music still proves to be well worth checking out. Employing cohorts like Bennie Maupin, Wah Wah Watson and multi-percussionist Bill Summers from the old days, and combining them with a huge roster of contemporary jazz, rap and hip-hop musicians, Hancock creates a surprising album full of samples, sequences, drum loops, and rhythm armies. Layered across the top are a variety of solos from Hancock himself, flutist Hubert Laws, trumpeter Wallace Roney, saxophonist Maupin and vocal snippets from various sources. The release of this album was delayed because of disagreements between the artist and his record company over the final mixes. It is, nonetheless, a recording that rewards repeated listening, from the updated version of "Butterfly," which made its first appearance on 1974's Thrust, to such irresistible gems as "Mojuba," "Bo Ba Be Da" and the title track. Not for jazzers whose ears and minds are closed to new sounds and ideas, but proof that jazz is a continually evolving music capable of absorbing the sounds of each new era and expanding its vocabulary as a result.


01 - Call It 95
02 - Dis Is Da Drum
03 - Shooz
04 - The Melody (On The Deuce By 44)
05 - Mojuba
06 - Butterfly
07 - Juju
08 - Hump
09 - Come And See Me
10 - Rubber Soul
11 - Bo Ba Be Da

Released in 1994, Dis Is da Drum is Herbie Hancock's 39th studio album and his first solo album after leaving Columbia Records.

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1926 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Herbie Hancock - Man-Child (1975) [2013] [HDTracks]
  • Herbie Hancock - Mr. Hands (1980/2008)
  • Herbie Hancock - Thrust - 1974 [AcousticSounds] (2014)
  • Herbie Hancock — Thrust (1998)
  • Herbie Hancock - Man Child (1975)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?