Lossless music download

Ella Fitzgerald & Billie Holiday - Ella Fitzgerald & Billie Holiday At Newport (1958) [2015] [HDTracks]

HD Tracks & Vinyl, Jazz | Author: vicor 61 | 13-02-2018, 15:05
Ella Fitzgerald & Billie Holiday - Ella Fitzgerald & Billie Holiday At Newport (1958) [2015] [HDTracks]
Artist: Ella Fitzgerald & Billie Holiday
Title Of Album: Ella Fitzgerald & Billie Holiday At Newport
Year Of Release: 2015 (1958)
Label: Verve Reissues
Country: USA
Genre: Vocal Jazz
Quality: FLAC (*tracks)
Bitrate: Lossless [24 Bit/192 kHz]
Time: 44:28
Full Size: 2,28 GB

Ella Fitzgerald & Billie Holiday at Newport is a 1958 live album by Ella Fitzgerald and Billie Holiday, recorded at the 1957 Newport Jazz Festival.

Reviewed by John Bush of allmusic.com:
Ella Fitzgerald & Billie Holiday at Newport presents the naturally intriguing results when Verve paired two sets recorded two days apart (over the 4th of July weekend, 1957) by the two best female singers of the 20th century. Unfortunately, circumstances weren't in their favor, as the combined factors of an unsympathetic band (for Fitzgerald) and shaky health (for Holiday) make these sets just a step below the expected level of greatness. It's unclear how much time Fitzgerald had spent with her trio, though she makes her unhappiness known while trying to jump-start them to a quicker tempo on "I'm Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself a Letter" and "April in Paris." Finally, she gets the band in line, delivering crowd-pleasing renditions of "Lullaby of Birdland" and the terrific scat piece "Air Mail Special," which must have set the park on fire. Holiday, though she would live for two more years, sounds as though she's on death's doorstep, croaking her standards "Willow Weep for Me," "My Man," "Lady Sings the Blues," and "What a Little Moonlight Can Do." Of course, any Billie Holiday appearance is worth hearing, and she brings her world-weary voice to task on the showpiece "Lady Sings the Blues." Though it's far from a perfect set for both singers, At Newport says more about their respective careers than any great show could. [For a special 2000 reissue of Ella Fitzgerald & Billie Holiday at Newport, Verve added six songs from Carmen McRae's set at Newport. As with Fitzgerald and Holiday, McRae also had problems with her set -- the absence of her usual backing trio forced her to begin her performance with an unfamiliar band. Still, it's an excellent, powerful showcase for McRae's voice on highlights like "I'll Remember April" and "Love Is Here to Stay."


01. This Can't Be Love
02. I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)
03. Body And Soul
04. April In Paris
05. I've Got A Crush On You
06. Airmail Special
07. I Can't Give You Anything But Love
08. Nice Work If You Can Get It
09. Willow Weep For Me
10. My Man
11. Lover, Come Back To Me
12. Lady Sings The Blues
13. What A Little Moonlight Can Do

Album Released: 1958
Recorded: July 4–6, 1957, Newport Jazz Festival, Freebody Park, Newport

   Comments: 1 | Views: 1479 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Billie Holiday - The Essential Billie Holiday: Carnegie Hall Concert Record ...
  • Billie Holiday - Billie Holiday (1957) [2015] [HDTracks]
  • Ella Fitzgerald, Billie Holiday & Carmen McRae - At Newport (2000)
  • Billie Holiday - Lady Sings the Blues: Billie Holiday Story Volume 4 (1995)
  • VA - The complete Jazz At The Philharmonic on Verve 1944-1949 [10CD] (2006)

  • #1: angel44 (12 October 2017 21:52)

    group: Visitors
    registration: 20.04.2013
    Thanks for 24 bit

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?