Lossless music download

Grant Green - Retrospective [4CD Box Set] (2002)

Jazz | Author: vicor 61 | 31-03-2017, 09:16
Grant Green - Retrospective [4CD Box Set] (2002)
Artist: Grant Green
Title Of Album: Retrospective [4CD Box Set]
Year Of Release: 2002 (1961-66)
Label: Blue Note / Capitol
Country: USA
Genre: Jazz / Hard Bop / Jazz-Funk / Soul Jazz
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue,log,scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 04:59:04
Full Size: 1,95 GB

Simply put, this is a very decent four-disc collection of the work of guitarist Grant Green. It features tracks from his many albums as a leader and some as a sideman with others, such as Lee Morgan, John Patton, Baby Face Willette, and Sonny Clark. His early-'60s sides are here along with most of his defining cuts from the '60s, from hard bop to soul-jazz to ballads to gospel -- everything most fans would ever want is here, including his late blues sides recorded in the bars of Detroit in 1970. While Green's own albums can never be replaced, this is a solid portrait of one of the most influential jazz guitarists in history.

Personnel: Grant Green (guitar); George Braith (soprano saxophone, stritch, tenor saxophone); James Spaulding, Lou Donaldson (alto saxophone); Ike Quebec (tenor saxophone, piano); Hank Mobley, Harold Vick, Joe Henderson, Sam Rivers, Stanley Turrentine, Wayne Shorter, Booker Ervin (tenor saxophone); Johnny Coles, Lee Morgan , Tommy Turrentine, Blue Mitchell (trumpet); John "Johnny" Adriano Acea, Duke Pearson, Herbie Hancock, Horace Parlan, Winston Kelly, Kenny Drew, McCoy Tyner, Sonny Clark, Tommy Flanagan (piano); Jack McDuff, Jimmy Smith , Big John Patton, Larry Young, Baby Face Willette, Billy Gardner (organ); Bobby Hutcherson (vibraphone); Dave Bailey , Donald Bailey , Elvin Jones, Hugh Walker, Al Harewood, Louis Hayes, Philly Joe Jones, Art Blakey, Art Taylor, Willie Bobo, Ben Dixon, Billy Higgins , Otis Finch (drums); Richard Landrum, Carlos "Patato" Valdes (congas); Garvin Masseaux (tambourine).


01. A Foggy Day
02. Blues for Willareen
03. Baby's Minor Lope
04. Swingin' at Sugar Ray's
05. Old Folks
06. Ain't No Use
07. Funky Mama
08. The Silver Meter
09. Our Miss Brooks
10. Boop Bop Bing Bash
11. Let 'Em Roll

01. The Yodel
02. Soul Woman
03. Talkin' About J.C.
04. You Don't Know What Love Is
05. Plaza de Toros
06. Tyrone
07. Somewhere in the Night
08. Lazy Afternoon
09. Speak Low

01. 'Round Midnight
02. So What
03. What Is This Thing Called Love?
04. It Ain't Necessarily So
05. My Little Suede Shoes
06. Besame Mucho
07. I Can't Stop Loving You
08. Joshua Fit the Battle of Jericho
09. Go Down Moses
10. My Favorite Things

01. Uh Huh
02. The Other Part of Town
03. The Lamp Is Low
04. Blues for Charlie
05. Back in Your Own Backyard
06. A Tune for Richard
07. Django
08. Morgan the Pirate
09. Minor League

Audio Remasterer: Ron McMaster (24-bit remaster)
Compilation producer: Michael Cuscuna.
Liner Note Author: Bob Blumenthal.
Recording information: Van Gelder Studios, Englewood Cliffs, NJ (01/23/1961-04/29/1966).
Photographer: Francis Wolff.

Grant Green - Retrospective [4CD Box Set] (2002)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1146 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Baby Face Willette - Stop And Listen (1961) [RVG Edition, 2009]
  • John Patton - The Organization (1994)
  • The Blue Box - Blue Note’s Best (1997)
  • VA - The Lost Grooves: Rare & Previoulsy Unissued Slices Of Funk From The V ...
  • Grant Green & Sonny Clark - Complete Blue Note Recordinge (1990)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?