Lossless music download

Orrin Evans - Liberation Blues (2014) [HDtracks]

HD Tracks & Vinyl, Jazz | Author: vicor 61 | 17-09-2017, 18:38
Orrin Evans - Liberation Blues (2014) [HDtracks]
Artist: Orrin Evans
Title Of Album: Liberation Blues
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Smoke Sessions Records
Country: USA
Genre: Post-Bop / Straight-Ahead Jazz
Quality: FLAC (*tracks, covers)
Bitrate: Lossless [24Bit/96kHz]
Time: 72:37
Full Size: 1,48 GB

In contrast to Cyrus Chestnut's hyper-intuitive trio, pianist Orrin Evans brings a bright quintet to bear with trumpeter Sean Jones and tenor saxophonist JD Allen. A full half of the Smoke performance is dedicated to "The Liberation Blues Suite" to whom Evans dedicated to bassist Dwayne Burno who died of kidney disease December 28, 2013. The suite opens with two Burno compositions, "Devil Eyes" and "Juanita." The former is a brisk cooker featuring the whole band in a cooperative display of empathy. The latter is a ballad with a delicate head that proves more durable than it initially sounds. Evans composed two of the last three pieces for the suite, the angular "A Lil' D.A.B a Do Ya" and the closing, "Liberation Blues," which is evidence of the continuing evolution of the blues as a discreet art form.

Outside of the suite, Evans contributes a couple of originals, the freely swinging "Simply Green" a useful vehicle for Jones' precision trumpet playing. Paul Motian's "Mumbo Jumbo" provides a craggy, dissonant head and the wide open harmonic spaces in which the horns dance a drunken waltz. Evans reprises his performance of "How High the Moon" which he and Jones shared on Jones' recent Mack Avenue release Im-pro-vise: Never Heard Before (2014). Evans, like Chestnut, includes a closing vamp on Miles Davis' "The Theme" before the encore of "The Night has a Thousand Eyes" sung by Joanna Pascale. Study and solid.


01 - Devil Eyes
02 - Juanita
03 - A Lil’ D.A.B. a do Ya
04 - A Free Man?
05 - Liberation Blues
06 - Simply Green
07 - Anysha
08 - Meant to Shine
09 - Mumbo Jumbo
10 - How High the Moon
11 - The Theme
12 - The Night Has a Thousand Eyes

Recorded live at Smoke Jazz Club, New York City, January 10 & 11, 2014.

Orrin Evans - piano
Luques Curtis - bass
Bill Stewart - drums
Sean Jones - trumpet
JD Allen - tenor saxophone
Joanna Pascale - vocals on track "12"

Orrin Evans - Liberation Blues (2014) [HDtracks]

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1536 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Bill Evans - Empathy 1962 [HDTracks 24-96]
  • Sean Jones Quartet - Im.pro.vise Never Before Seen (2014)
  • Orrin Evans - Flip the Script (2012)
  • Orrin Evans Ortet - Justin Time (1997)
  • Sean Jones - Kaleidoscope (2007)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?