Lossless music download

The Carpenters - Singles 1969-1981 (2004) [2013] [HDtracks]

HD Tracks & Vinyl, Rock, Pop | Author: vicor 61 | 2-05-2018, 17:09
The Carpenters - Singles 1969-1981 (2004) [2013] [HDtracks]
Artist: The Carpenters
Title Of Album: Singles 1969-1981
Year Of Release: 2013 (2004)
Label: A&M Records
Country: USA
Genre: Pop, Soft Rock, Adult Contemporary
Quality: FLAC (*tracks, d.booklet)
Bitrate: Lossless [24Bit/96kHz]
Time: 77:11
Full Size: 1,58 GB

Sibling duo Karen and Richard Carpenter dominated the pop-charts throughout the 70’s, scoring 12 top ten singles with clean pop arrangements highlighting Karen Carpenters delicate vocals. This collection brings together singles from the golden years of these three-time Grammy award winners, who scored more than 20 singles on the Billboard Hot 100.
1978, Waylon & Willie is a duet album that stayed at the top of the country album charts for 10 weeks, spending a total of 126 weeks on the country charts.

In 1990, Richard Carpenter revised and expanded the Carpenters' 1973 compilation LP Singles 1969-1973 for the CD era, retaining that album's 12 tracks and adding nine more in his survey of his and his sister Karen's run on the pop chart. Now, the set included all of the duo's 12 Top Ten hits (and their holiday chart-topper, "Merry Christmas Darling"), but it did not contain all their Top 20 hits, eschewing "Solitaire" and "There's a Kind of Hush (All Over the World)," along with Top 40 hits "I Need to Be in Love" and "All You Get From Love Is a Love Song" in favor of minor chart entries "Ticket to Ride" (their chart debut), "Bless the Beasts and Children" (the B-side of "Superstar"), and "I Believe You," as well as the non-charting B-side "This Masquerade." Richard Carpenter also took the opportunity to re-sequence the collection, giving a sense of the retrospective tone by starting with "Yesterday Once More," followed by the introductory "We've Only Just Begun." Both songs are in the Carpenters' familiar ballad style, with Richard Carpenter's piano prominent in the mix along with Karen Carpenter's (or Hal Blaine's) drums in the center of the mix, and strings and background vocals (by Karen and Richard) in the back. Gradually, the tempos of the songs increase and other instruments appear, such as the electric guitar solo by Tony Peluso on the fifth track, "Goodbye to Love," the flute by Bob Messenger on the eighth track, "This Masquerade," and the pedal steel guitar by Buddy Emmons on the country-inflected "Top of the World." The sequencing relieves the sameness of Richard Carpenter's arrangements at least somewhat. Of course, the group's real draw remains Karen Carpenter's melancholy alto, which makes even the happier lyrics seem heartbreaking. The 2004 reissue on an SACD hybrid disc adds clarity and increases space between the instruments so that each part can be focused on separately. This is not always an advantage, since it sometimes tends to make music that sounded lush and full in its old, compressed analog form seem surprisingly spare and austere. But Karen Carpenter's vocals benefit from the central attention they receive.


01 - Yesterday Once More (1991 Remix)
02 - We've Only Just Begun (Album Version)
03 - Superstar (2004 Remix)
04 - Rainy Days And Mondays (1991 Remix)
05 - Goodbye To Love (1991 Remix)
06 - I Believe You (Album Version)
07 - It's Going To Take Some Time (1989 Remix)
08 - This Masquerade (1990 Remix)
09 - Ticket To Ride (Album Version)
10 - Top Of The World (2004 Remix)
11 - Only Yesterday (Album Version)
12 - Hurting Each Other (1991 Remix)
13 - Please Mr. Postman (1991 Remix)
14 - Merry Christmas Darling (Album Version)
15 - Sing (1994 Remix)
16 - Bless The Beasts And Children (1991 Remix)
17 - I Won't Last A Day Without You (1991 Remix)
18 - Touch Me When We're Dancing (Album Version)
19 - For All We Know (1990 Remix)
20 - (They Long To Be) Close To You (1991 Remix)
21 - Calling Occupants Of Interplanetary Craft (The Recognized Anthem Of World Contact Day) (1989 Remix)

   Comments: 3 | Views: 5766 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Jim Brickman - Yesterday Once More - A Tribute to the Music of the Carpente ...
  • The Carpenters - The Ultimate Collection (2CD) 2006
  • VA - Instrumental Carpenters (1998)
  • The Carpenters - Singles 1969-1981 (2004) DTS 5.1
  • The Carpenters - Gold: 35th Anniversary Edition (2CD) 2004

  • #1: angel44 (4 May 2016 23:06)

    group: Visitors
    registration: 20.04.2013
    #2: denom (5 November 2016 13:20)

    group: Visitors
    registration: 9.05.2012
    Dead links, pls reupload - thanks!
    #3: HeavyHerb (5 May 2018 22:53)

    group: Visitors
    registration: 21.04.2018
    Thank You. Excellent music.

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?