Lossless music download

Edwin Starr - Involved [Expanded Edition] (2014)

Pop | Author: vicor 61 | 24-09-2016, 21:51
Edwin Starr - Involved [Expanded Edition] (2014)
Artist: Edwin Starr
Title Of Album: Involved [Expanded Edition]
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Big Break Records [CDBBRX0305]
Country: USA
Genre: Soul, Disco, R&B, Funk
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue,log)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 77:41
Full Size: 478 MB

It's amazing that Edwin Starr had any voice at all after recording these songs. Producer Norman Whitfield had the explosive singer hitting incredible notes in the studio. A follow up to his #1 "War," the jammin' "Stop the War Now," which many fluffed off as a copy cat, is actually its own brand of poison. From Starr's opening line, "Make the Sign of Peace," and "Sing Now!" It's a nonstop rocker that suffered from comparisons to "War." Unbelievable, but "Funky Music Sho Nuff Turns Me On" reaches even higher decibels. Norman had the session musicians playing fast, funky and reckless, as Edwin belted, at the top of his lungs, his love for low-down grooves. Whitfield recorded the same songs by different artists, so it didn't surprise me to hear Edwin doing the Temptations' "Ball of Confusion," which employs a motor-booty beat to drive home its socially significant lyrics. The Miracles' "Way Over There" was first released on Edwin's debut Motown LP; the brain trust at Hitsville U.S.A. decided to include it here also. And it's easy to see why, it has the same driving beat that is prevalent on this LP. The only cooling points are versions of Sly & the Family Stone's "Stand," and a soulful rendition of George Harrison's "My Sweet Lord."


01. War 3:23
02. Ball Of Confusion (That’s What The World Is Today) 12:51
03. Funky Music (Sho’ Nuff Turns Me On) 3:09
04. Stop The War 3:36
05. Cloud Nine 3:26
06. Stand 3:31
07. Way Over There 2:43
08. My Sweet Lord 4:09
Bonus Tracks:
09. Stop The War Now (Single Version) 3:43
10. Funky Music (Sho’ Nuff Turns Me On) (Single Version) 3:09
11. Cloud Nine (Single Version) 3:23
12. Take Me Clear From Here 3:22
13. Who Is The Leader Of The People 2:30
14. Don’t Tell Me I’m Crazy 2:36
15. There You Go 3:03
16. You’ve Got My Soul On Fire 3:26
17. Love (The Lonely Lord’s Prayer) 3:21
18. Ain’t It Hell Up In Harlem 2:41
19. Big Papa 3:01
20. Who’s Right Or Wrong 3:18
21. Lonely Rainy Days In San Diego 3:11

Tracks 9 to 14 and 18 - mono!

Tracks 1 to 8 are the album "Involved" - released June 1971 in the USA on Gordy G 956L and February 1972 in the UK on Tamla Motown STML 11199.
About Bonus:
Stop The War Now (Single Version) - December 1970, USA 7" on Gordy G-7104
Funky Music (Sho' Nuff Turns Me On) (Single Version) - April 1971, USA 7" on Gordy G-7107
Cloud Nine (Single Version) - B-side of 10
Take Me Clear From Here - February 1972, USA 7" on Soul 35096
Who Is The Leader Of The People - August 1972, USA 7" on Soul 35100
Don't Tell Me I'm Crazy - B-side of 13
There You Go - May 1973, USA 7" on Soul 35103
You've Got My Soul On Fire - September 1973, USA 7" on Motown 1276
Love (The Lonely Lord's Player) - B-side of 16
Ain't It Hell Up In Harlem - March 1974, USA 7" on Motown 1284
Big Papa - June 1974, USA 7" on Motown 1300
Who's Right Or Wrong - November 1974, USA 7" on Motown 1326
Lonely Rainy Days In San Diego - B-side to 20

Edwin Starr - Involved [Expanded Edition] (2014)

Edwin Starr - Involved [Expanded Edition] (2014)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 3479 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Edwin Starr - War & Peace / Involved [Original Recording Remastered] (2002)
  • Edwin Starr - War & Peace [Japanese Remastered] (2013)
  • The Temptations - Solid Rock (1972)
  • Edwin Starr - 20 Greatest Motown Hits (1987)
  • Edwin Starr - Soul Master & 25 Miles (1968-1969, remaster 2002)1992)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?