Lossless music download

Billy Joel - The Nylon Curtain [Japan BSCD2] (2013)

Rock, Pop, Japan Editions | Author: vicor 61 | 16-02-2017, 08:47
Billy Joel - The Nylon Curtain [Japan BSCD2] (2013)
Artist: Billy Joel
Title Of Album: The Nylon Curtain [Japan BSCD2]
Year Of Release: 2013 (1982)
Label (Catalog#): Sony [SICP 30175]
Country: USA
Genre: Rock, Baroque Pop, New Wave
Quality: FLAC (image+.cue+.log,scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 41:46
Full Size: 444 MB

Billy Joel hit back as hard as he could with Glass Houses, his bid to prove that he could rock as hard as any of those new wave punks. He might not have proven himself a punk -- for all of his claims of being a hard rocker, his work inevitably is pop because of his fondness for melody -- but he proved to himself that he could still rock, even if the critics didn't give him any credit for it. It was now time to mature, to move pop/rock into the middle age and, in the process, earn critical respect. In short, The Nylon Curtain is where Billy Joel went serious, consciously crafting a song cycle about Baby Boomers in the Reagan era. Since this was an album about Baby Boomers, he chose to base his music almost entirely on the Beatles, the pivotal rock band for his generation. Joel is naturally inclined to write big melodies like McCartney, but he idolizes Lennon, which makes The Nylon Curtain a fascinating cross between ear candy and social commentary. His desire to record a grand concept album is admirable, but his ever-present lyrical shortcomings mean that the songs paint a picture without arriving at any insights. He occasionally gets lost in his own ambition, as on the waterlogged second side, but the first half of the song suite -- "Allentown," "Laura," "Pressure," "Goodnight Saigon," "She's Right on Time" -- is layered, successful, mature pop that brings Joel tantalizingly close to his ultimate goal of sophisticated pop/rock for mature audiences. ~Allmusic


01. Allentown (3:52)
02. Laura (5:06)
03. Pressure (4:41)
04. Goodnight Saigon (7:04)
05. She's Right On Time (4:14)
06. A Room Of Our Own (4:04)
07. Surprises (3:26)
08. Scandinavian Skies (6:01)
09. Where's The Orchestra? (3:17)
~ (41:46)

- Billy Joel – vocals, acoustic & electric pianos, synthesizers, Hammond organ, melodica, Prophet-5 synthesizer, Synclavier II on "Pressure"
- Liberty DeVitto – drums, percussion
- Doug Stegmeyer – bass guitar
- David Brown – electric & acoustic guitars (lead)
- Russell Javors – electric & acoustic guitars (rhythm)

Billy Joel - The Nylon Curtain [Japan BSCD2] (2013)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 3177 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Billy Joel - The Nylon Curtain [HDtracks] (1982) [2014)
  • Billy Joel - A Matter of Trust:The Bridge to Russia - The Concert (2014) BD ...
  • Preview: Billy Joel - Glass Houses (1980) Blu-spec CD
  • Billy Joel - Greatest Hits (Vol. III) 1997
  • Billy Joel - Greatest Hits (Vol. I & II) 1985

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?