Lossless music download

Procol Harum - A Salty Dog / Home (2003)

Progressive Rock, Blues Rock | Author: vicor 61 | 14-05-2017, 10:56
Procol Harum - A Salty Dog / Home (2003)
Artist: Procol Harum
Title Of Album: A Salty Dog / Home
Year Of Release: 2003 (1969, 70)
Label (Catalog#): BGO Records [BGOCD558]
Country: UK
Genre: Psychedelic Rock, Prog Rock, Blues Rock
Quality: FLAC (image+.cue+.log,scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 01:20:27
Full Size: 477 MB

Review by Dave Sleger, AMG:
This is a reissue of Procol Harum's third and fourth albums released in 1969 and 1970. While there was outside and perhaps internal pressure to equal the success of "A Whiter Shade of Pale," this band was not deterred from creating wonderfully creative music that sometimes matched the grandeur of its 1967 smash but just didn't translate into a "hit." A Salty Dog is possibly their finest album as it combines Gary Brooker's majestic and haunting musical themes with Keith Reid's sound poetry and needed bursts from Robin Trower's electric guitar. The chilling title song is every bit the musical statement that "Whiter Shade" was, as was Matthew Fisher's "Wreck of the Hesperus," although Fisher's lead vocal on that song lacks the soulful authority of Brooker. A well-rounded album in every imaginable way (classical, folk, blues, and rock), A Salty Dog was followed by the less artistic Home. That album opened with Trower's unrelenting "Whisky Train," a blues-rock number that perhaps indicated where his heart was during the recording sessions. His guitar work just didn't seem to have the flair and accent as heard on A Salty Dog. The macabre "Dead Man's Dream" is classic Brooker-Reid as it conveys a distinct picture and mood, albeit an unpleasant one. The prevailing theme on Home is one of despair and bitterness, and it resonates to the point of preventing these songs from blossoming. The epic "Whaling Stories" has plenty of build-up but an inadequate denouement. Home is a decent album, but it pales in comparison with A Salty Dog. The seven pages of liner notes offer invaluable insight and historical perspective to these two albums.


CD1 - A Salty Dog:

01. A Salty Dog 4:41
02. The Milk Of Human Kindness 3:49
03. Too Much Between Us 3:49
04. The Devil Came From Kansas 4:41
05. Boredom 4:36
06. Juicy John Pink 2:08
07. Wreck Of The Hesperus 3:50
08. All This And More 3:51
09. Crucifiction Land 4:58
10. Pilgrims Progress 4:32

CD2 - Home:

01. Whiskey Train 4:32
02. Dead Man's Dream 4:45
03. Still There'll Be More 5:00
04. Nothing That I Don't Know 3:40
05. About To Die 3:41
06. Barnyard Story 2:48
07. Piggy Pig Pig 4:48
08. Whaling Stories 7:09
09. Your Own Choice 3:10

Procol Harum - A Salty Dog / Home (2003)

Procol Harum - A Salty Dog / Home (2003)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 752 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Procol Harum - Home (1970) [2015 Remastered & Expanded Deluxe Edition]
  • Procol Harum - A Salty Dog (1969) [2015 Remastered & Expanded Deluxe Editio ...
  • Procol Harum - Classic Tracks & Rarities: An Anthology (2002)
  • Procol Harum - The First Four (2003)
  • Procol Harum - A Salty Dog 1969 (JAPAN EDITION 2012)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?