Lossless music download

Tammi Terrell - Come On and See Me: The Complete Solo Collection (2010)

Blues, Pop | Author: artmuss | 26-10-2015, 19:15
Tammi Terrell - Come On and See Me: The Complete Solo Collection (2010)
Artist: Tammi Terrell
Title Of Album: Come On and See Me: The Complete Solo Collection
Year Of Release: 2010
Label (Catalog#): Hip-O Select [B0014792-02]
Country: United States
Genre: Soul, Funk, Pop, Rhythm & Blues
Quality: FLAC (tracks +.cue,log,scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 2:17:43
Full Size: 1.07 gb

Tammi Terrell, the lovely ing‚nue who became best known as Marvin Gaye's duet partner, the female voice in the Motown classics "Ain't No Mountain High Enough," "Your Precious Love" and more, also had a budding solo career - one cut tragically cut short by her premature death at age 24. In 2010, as we mark the 40th anniversary of Tammi's death and celebrate what would have been her 65th birthday, the singular person behind those immortal duets is being rediscovered. Come On And See Me: The Complete Solo Collection brings together for the first time all of Tammi's solo recordings, from her earliest releases for Scepter/Wand, when she was still in high school, to her brief time with James Brown, her stint with Checker/Chess and, finally, her blossoming at Motown. That's a total of 50 tracks on 2 CDs: every single, B-side, album track and stray cut from posthumous releases - plus an amazing treasure trove of newly discovered tracks: 10 unreleased recordings direct from the Chess and Motown vaults, including Tammi's only known live recordings. And 11 songs previously available in mono are presented in brand new stereo mixes; most of those are extended as well. Two of the unreleased tracks aren't strictly solo: we found a duet version of Tammi's otherwise solo Chess single, "If I Would Marry You," in which she is paired with triple-threat Jimmy Radcliffe, more than three years before she worked with Marvin Gaye; and "Kissing In The Shadows," a never-before-heard Motown track in which she is supported vocally by producer Johnny Bristol. Additional unreleased tracks include two Chess recordings co-written by Radcliffe - "I Can't Hold It In Any More," a bluesy cover of an Etta James B-side, and "I've Got Nothing To Say But Goodbye." On the Motown side, there are two previously unheard Ashford & Simpson compositions and productions, "Beware Of A Stranger" and "It's Been A Long Time Happenin'." Then there is the live set. Tammi Terrell was, in September 1966, a 21-year-old rising star at Motown with two minor hit singles; her duets with Marvin Gaye were not yet a notion. She was tapped to open for Smokey Robinson & the Miracles at one of the company's "Motown Mondays" performances at Detroit's swanky Roostertail nightclub, the same venue where the Four Tops' and the Temptations' live albums were recorded. In a stirring 13-minute set, Tammi showcased her versatility, performing spirited versions of her two solo singles and a smartly arranged medley in which she sang snippets of songs associated with her favorite singers: Dinah Washington, Aretha Franklin, Nancy Wilson and the Supremes. It's the only live recording of Tammi anywhere. This unprecedented collection also features a beautiful booklet with rare photos, detailed annotations and an essay by Princeton professor Daphne Brooks. Come On And See Me: The Complete Solo Collection celebrates the life and music of Tammi Terrell. Here is another way to celebrate: Tammi is the subject of a new one-hour documentary airing this fall on TV One, part of the second season of the channel's acclaimed signature series, Unsung.


CD 1 - The Tammy Montgomery Recordings
1. If You See Bill (3:00)
2. It's Mine (2:29)
3. Voice Of Experience (2:11)
4. I Wancha' To Be Sure (2:03)
5. Sinner's Devotion (2:46)
6. Make The Night A Little Longer (2:33)
7. Big John (2:34)
8. I Cried (2:45)
9. If You Don't Think (1:52)
10. If I Would Marry You (Stereo Version] (2:48)
11. This Time Tomorrow [Stereo Version] (2:28)
12. I've Got Nothing To Say But Goodbye (2:33)
13. I Can't Hold It In Any More (3:03)
14. If I Would Marry You (3:25)

Tammi Terrell: "Irrestitible" LP
15. I Can't Believe You Love Me (2:34)
16. That's What Boys Are Made For (3:05)
17. Come On And See Me (2:21)
18. What A Good Man He Is (3:01)
19. Tears At The End Of A Love Affair (2:57)
20. This Old Heart Of Mine (Is Weak For You) (2:27)
21. He's The One I Love (2:38)
22. Can't Stop Now (Love Is Calling) (2:41)
23. Just Too Musc To Hope For (2:55)
24. Hold Me Oh My Darling (2:40)
25. I Can't Go On Without You (2:37)

Non-LP Singles
26. Baby Don'tcha Worry [Stereo Version] (2:53)
27. There Are Things [Stereo Version] (3:11)

CD 2 - Rare Motown
1. Ain't No Mountain High Enough (2:26)
2. All I Do is Think About You (2:59)
3. Slow Down (2:49)
4. I Gotta Find a Way (To Get You Back) (3:00)
5. Oh How I'd Miss You [Demo Version] (2:41)
6. Lone, Lonely Town (2:55)
7. You Ain’t Livin’ ’Till You’re Lovin’ (Stereo Version) (2:51)
8. Give In, You Just Can't Win (Stereo Version) (2:39)
9. When Love Comes Knocking At My Heart (Stereo Version) (2:41)
10. Memory Chest (Stereo Version) (3:08)
11. That's How It Is (Since You've Been Gone) (Stereo Version) (3:29)
12. More, More, More (Stereo Version) (2:46)
13. Two Can Have A Party (Stereo Version) (2:34)
14. My Heart (Stereo Version) (3:04)
15. Don’t Let Me Be Lonely (Stereo Version) (3:37)
16. Kissing In the Shadows (2:54)
17. Beware of a Stranger (2:48)
18. It’S Been a Long Time Happenin’ (2:31)

Live At The Roostertail
19. Almost Like Being In Love (Live at the Roostertail) (1:52)
20. Stage dialogue with emcee Scott Regan (Live at the Roostertail) (0:40)
21. I Can't Believe You Love Me (Live At The Roostertail) (2:30)
22. Medley - What A Difference A Day Makes, Runnin’ Out Of Fools, Tell Me The Truth (4:47)
23. Come On And See Me (Live at the Roostertail) (2:58)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1277 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Marvin Gaye & Tammi Terrell - Icon: Love Songs (2011) [Remastered]
  • Marvin Gaye & Tammi Terrell - 20th Century Masters - The Millennium Collect ...
  • Tammi Terrell - Irresistible (1968) [Reissue 2001]
  • VA - Alle 40 Goed - Motown (2013)
  • Tammi Terrell - The Essential Collection (2001)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?