Lossless music download

Ian Gillan - Mercury High: The Story Of Ian Gillan (2004)

Rock, Hard Rock | Author: vicor 61 | 15-09-2016, 22:53
Ian Gillan - Mercury High: The Story Of Ian Gillan (2004)
Artist: Ian Gillan
Title Of Album: Mercury High: The Story Of Ian Gillan
Year Of Release: 2004
Label (Catalog#): Metro Doubles [METRDCD534]
Country: UK
Genre: Rock, Hard Rock
Quality: FLAC (image+.cue+.log,scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 02:24:04
Full Size: 1,01 GB

Most listeners will identify Ian Gillan as the main vocal force behind the classic Deep Purple albums of the early '70s: Deep Purple in Rock, Fireball, Machine Head, Who Do We Think We Are, and Made in Japan. Gillan's off-and-on relationship with the band has allowed him plenty of time to pursue solo work. The best of it is represented on Mercury High: The Story of Ian Gillan, featuring 30 solo tracks recorded between 1977 to 2001. You have to give Gillan credit for his eclectic choice of material. He could have easily relied on a ready-made audience wanting further Deep Purple retreads. Instead, Gillan's patented and piercing heavy metal screech is pretty much absent and replaced by a softer approach on tracks that incorporate polished soul-pop, mainstream arrangements. The closest Gillan gets to the Deep Purple sound are the songs from the 1991 Toolbox album produced by '80s British metal fan Chris Tsangarides. Unless you are the most ardent fan of the vocalist, his several solo records probably slipped through the cracks. Mercury High: The Story of Ian Gillan gives those with an interest a second chance to investigate a side of the singer that deserves to be heard more often.


01. Driving Me Wild (Fast Take) (2:36)
02. Music In My Head (4:48)
03. You Make Me Feel So Good (4:42)
04. You Led My Heart Astray (5:55)
05. Clear Air Turbulence (7:37)
06. Money Lender (5:38)
07. Over the Hill (7:21)
08. Scarabus (4:55)
09. Twin Exhausted (4:09)
10. Mercury High (3:34)
11. Slags to Bitches (5:12)
12. Mad Elaine (4:18)
13. My Baby Loves Me (8:13)
14. That's Why God Is Singing the Blues (Live) (3:48)

01. She Took My Breath Away (4:36)
02. I Can't Dance to That (4:26)
03. Can't Believe You Wanna Leave (3:10)
04. Lonely Avenue (3:09)
05. Telephone Box (5:18)
06. Gut Reaction (3:41)
07. No Good Luck (4:09)
08. Nothing But the Best (3:42)
09. Loving on Borrowed Time (5:02)
10. No More Cane on the Brazos (8:13)
11. Hang Me Out to Dry (4:02)
12. Toolbox (4:14)
13. Candy Horizon (4:16)
14. Don't Hold Back (4:37)
15. Pictures of Hell (3:54)
16. Via Miami (Live) (4:49)

Ian Gillan - Mercury High: The Story Of Ian Gillan (2004)

Ian Gillan - Mercury High: The Story Of Ian Gillan (2004)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 925 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Ian Gillan - Toolbox (1991) [Japan Mini-LP CD 2007]
  • Ian Gillan - Trouble - The Best of Gillan (1991)
  • Ian Gillan Band - Clear Air Turbulence [2 CD] (2005)
  • Ian Gillan Band - Ian Gillan Band [2CD] (2006)
  • Iаn Gillаn - Тооlbох [Jараnеsе Еditiоn] (1991)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?