Lossless music download

Gong - Live Etc. [Japanese Mini LP SHM-CD] (2015)

Rock, Progressive Rock, Japan Editions | Author: vicor 61 | 28-06-2017, 12:27
Gong - Live Etc. [Japanese Mini LP SHM-CD] (2015)
Artist: Gong
Title Of Album: Live Etc. [Japanese Mini LP SHM-CD]
Year Of Release: 2015 (1977)
Label (Catalog#): Universal Music [UICY-77390/1]
Country: France/UK
Genre: Psychedelic Rock / Prog Rock
Quality: FLAC (*image+.cue+.log,scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 2CD (01:23:45)
Full Size: 739 MB

Review by David Ross Smith, AMG:
The essential Live Etc. sports incredible live versions of material from four Gong albums (Camembert Electrique, Flying Teapot, Angel's Egg, You) and one studio track which had been recorded in 1974 as an attempt at a single. The live material, recorded 1973-1975, consists of performances from several different incarnations of the band, making this an excellent starting point for anyone interested in sampling Gong. Abundant and overflowing with infusions of space, prog, and jazz, this melting pot of a band stands alone in its eclectic delivery of the goods. Highlights include Moerlen's percussion solo on "Flying Teapot," Malherbe's sax solo on "Zero the Hero…," and Hillage's guitar work on the spacy "Radio Gnome Invisible." "Where Have All the Flowers Gone" is Gong's attempt at a single; while somewhat mainstream, even this piece pushes the envelope for the airwaves. "6/8 Tune" is a superb jazzy instrumental, a kind of foreshadowing to the CD's final four tracks, which are for the most part instrumental and very progressive. The tracks blend together to form the climax and highlight of this great live album, and exhibit the jazziness that would become an integral sound in the band's future releases. Recorded after Allen's departure, this is the personnel that would go on to record Shamal, though no tracks from that album show up here. Live Etc. originally ended with the tune "Ooby-Scooby Doomsday" (another attempt at a pop hit), but at 79 minutes, the CD format could not hold it, and it has been tacked on to the end of the Angel's Egg compact disc release.



01. You Can't Kill Me 05:56
02. Zero The Hero And The Witch's Spell 11:05
03. Flying Teapot 06:31
04. Dynamite / I Am Your Animal 05:43
05. 6/8 Tune 03:48
06. Est-Ce Que Je Suis 04:16
07. Ooby-Scooby Doomsday Or The D-day DJ's Got The D.D.T. Blues 05:09
08. Radio Gnome Invisible 07:35


01. Oily Way 03:21
02. Outer Temple 01:03
03. Inner Temple 05:14
04. Where Have All The Flowers Gone? 03:04
05. Isle Of Everywhere 10:24
06. Get It Inner 02:30
07. Master Builder 05:57
08. Flying Teapot (Reprise) 02:05

Gong - Live Etc. [Japanese Mini LP SHM-CD] (2015)

Gong - Live Etc. [Japanese Mini LP SHM-CD] (2015)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1546 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Gong - Albums Collection (2015)
  • Gong - Angel's Egg [Japanese Mini LP SHM-CD] (2015)
  • Gong - The Radio Gnome Invisible Trilogy [4CD Remastered Audiophile Edition ...
  • Gong - Absolutely The Best Of Gong [2CD Remastered Box Set] (2001)
  • Gong - Other Side Of The Sky 'A Collection' (1999)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?