Lossless music download

David Ruffin - Everything's Coming Up Love (1976) [2013 Japan]

Jazz, Pop, Japan Editions | Author: vicor 61 | 6-11-2016, 11:13
David Ruffin - Everything's Coming Up Love (1976) [2013 Japan]
Artist: David Ruffin
Title Of Album: Everything's Coming Up Love [Japan]
Year Of Release: 2013 (1976)
Label (Catalog#): Motown [PROT-1102]
Country: USA
Genre: Funk, Soul, R&B
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue,log,scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 37:04
Full Size: 340 MB


01. Discover Me
02. First Round Knock-Out
03. Good Good Times
04. On And Off
05. Ready, Willing And Able
06. Everything's Coming Up Love
07. Let's Get Into Something
08. Until We Said Goodbye

AllMusic Review by Lindsay Planer:
As he had done on Who I Am (1975), David Ruffin (vocals) teamed up with the multi-talented composer, arranger and producer Van McCoy for the follow-up Everything's Coming Up Love (1976). While certainly not a landmark in terms of Ruffin's artistic progression, the eight cuts definitely sound in sync with the concurrent plethora of danceable records spinning in the discotheques. McCoy again called on the finest instrumental support that the Big Apple had to offer with recording session stalwarts Richard Tee (keyboards), Eric Gale (guitar), Hugh McCracken (guitar), Steve Gadd (drums), and Ralph McDonald (percussion). Plus, Diane Destry (vocals), Brenda Hillard and Albert Bailey -- better known as Faith, Hope & Charity. It is their angelic intonations that listeners are treated to during the opening of "Discover Me." McCoy's string and horn charts are ostensibly influenced by the Philly soul stylings of Leon Huff and Kenny Gamble. "First Round Knock Out" was a tune McCoy had initially written for two-time heavyweight champion, Smokin' Joe Frazier, which Motown put out in the fall of 1975. Ruffin's reading is clearly aimed for the dancefloor as the slinky, pulsating rhythm drives solidly for nearly nine minutes. Faith, Hope & Charity lend their breezy blend to the optimistic and reflective midtempo ballad "Good, Good Times." "On and Off" hearkens to the classic Motown sound with an easier, slightly syncopated beat that isn't as heavy as the typical fare on this project. "Ready Willing and Able" is a return to form for Ruffin as he unleashes his world-weary and soul-stirring wailing. The title song "Everything's Coming Up Love" is a rather blatant homage to Barry White's Love Unlimited Orchestra bearing more than a few similarities to the LUO's "Love's Theme." Although there are no slow, romantic numbers, the closer "Until We Say Goodbye" -- one of two selections to have been penned by someone other than McCoy -- adopts a sweet sentiment behind yet another disco-fied drone. The 45s "On and Off" b/w "No Matter Where" and "Everything's Coming Up Love" b/w "Statue of a Fool" -- were issued as singles. Oddly, the flipsides came from earlier Ruffin LPs. In 2006 Hip-O Select compiled Everything's Coming Up Love (1975), In My Stride (1977), and a dozen-plus "bonus tracks" for the all-inclusive Motown Solo Albums, Vol. 2 (2006). The double-CD might prove difficult to find or pricey as it is a limited edition.

David Ruffin - Everything's Coming Up Love (1976) [2013 Japan]

David Ruffin - Everything's Coming Up Love (1976) [2013 Japan]

   Comments: 0 | Views: 660 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Teena Marie - Wild & Peaceful [Remastered & Expanded] (2005)
  • Faith, Hope & Charity - Faith, Hope & Charity (1975) [2014 Expanded Edition ...
  • The Temptations - Reunion 1982 [Japanese Remastered Limited Edition] (2013)
  • David Ruffin - David: Unreleased LP & More (2004)
  • Van McCoy - The Disco Kid (1975)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?