Lossless music download

Jason Collett - Song And Dance Man (2016)

Rock, Indie, Pop | Author: Ps1x | 4-02-2016, 21:00
Jason Collett - Song And Dance Man (2016)

Artist: Jason Collett
Title Of Album: Song And Dance Man
Year Of Release: 2016
Label (Catalog#): Arts & Crafts
Country: Canada
Genre: Indie Pop, Indie Rock
Quality: FLAC (*tracks)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 36:10
Full Size: 253Mb

01. Provincial Blues 03:07
02. Song and Dance Man 03:09
03. Forever Young Is Getting Old 02:34
04. Long Day's Shadow 02:50
05. Little Sparrow 02:18
06. If She Don't Love Me Now 02:41
07. Singing American 03:17
08. Love You Babe 03:01
09. Black Oak Savanna 02:22
10. Where Does Your Love Go? 02:51
11. Nobody's Fool 03:14
12. It Don't Matter Anymore 02:08
13. Staring at the Sun 02:40

“Song And Dance Man”, the title track from Jason Collett’s sixth full-length album, finds the iconic singer-songwriter back at centre stage, with three-minutes-and-change and a story to sing. Featuring the bright production touch of Bahamas’ Afie Jurvanen, “Song And Dance Man” covers the trials and triumphs of the modern musician with poignant poetry:
If you can tweet something brilliant, you got a marketing plan

Song And Dance Man’s thirteen songs bear the wit and melody of classic Jason Collett: contemplative reflections on getting older, backed with an affinity for freewheeling 70s dance music. The album’s conspiring themes of love & loneliness, sun & shadows, are buoyed by its soaring sound. Each song rises into an easy, spacious groove, lead by Jason’s languid melodies and Afie’s sun-drunk bass.

“There’s a cool economy to Afie’s approach that lets the record breathe and allows it to say more with less, something I worked hard at hardly working at in writing the songs,” says Collett. “Keeping a light touch, keeping it short.”

Having spent the years since 2012’s Reckon finding himself further engaged in the growing success of his Basement Revue concert series – a cross-pollinating musical & literary mash-up of Canada’s premiere contemporary artists – the Toronto indie-troubadour describes this record as a liberating process distilled in a stretch of deep domestic reverie.

"I like writing songs and for the first time in my life I felt no rush to hustle them or myself out the door,” says Collett. “I let some dust settle, some weeds grow, putter about at home…”

The result is a dynamic addition to a strong body of work. Song And Dance Man may be Jason Collett’s finest effort yet – back in the spotlight, more comfortable than ever in the guise of entertainer:

You got to do what you can when you’re a Song And Dance Man.

Song And Dance Man was recorded in spring 2015 with long-time collaborators drummer/engineer Don Kerr (at his Rooster Studio), Christine Bougie on guitar & lap steel, Zeus’ Neil Quinn on backing vocals, and Afie holding it down on the bass, sometimes two.



   Comments: 0 | Views: 2875 |
    Related Releases:     
  • The Jason Bonham Band - In The Name Of My Father: The Zepset (1997)
  • Bruford / Borstlap - Every Step A Dance Every Word A Song (2004)
  • Charles Lloyd & Jason Moran - Hagar's Song (2013) [HDtracks]
  • Jason Collett - Reckon [2CD Edition] (2012)
  • Barefoot Dance Of The Sea - Beneath Closed Eyes (2012)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?