Lossless music download

Elvis Costello and the Attractions - Goodbye Cruel World (1984) [2015] [HDTracks]

HD Tracks & Vinyl, Rock, Punk, Pop | Author: vicor 61 | 16-05-2018, 22:06
Elvis Costello and the Attractions - Goodbye Cruel World (1984) [2015] [HDTracks]
Artist: Elvis Costello and the Attractions
Title Of Album: Goodbye Cruel World
Year Of Release: 2015 (1984)
Label (Catalog#): Hip-O/Elvis Costello
Country: UK
Genre: Pop Rock, Punk, New Wave
Quality: FLAC (*tracks, front)
Bitrate: Lossless [24Bit/192kHz]
Time: 44:19
Full Size: 1,88 GB

Goodbye Cruel World was Elvis Costello's ninth album overall and the eighth with his backing band The Attractions.

During the making of Goodbye Cruel World, Elvis Costello was undergoing a multitude of personal problems, including a divorce, that resulted in a number of poor production decisions and ill-conceived, unformed songs. Like Punch the Clock, Goodbye Cruel World was produced by Clive Langer and Alan Winstanley, the top British hitmakers of the '80s. Consequently, most of the record suffers from a stiff, synthesized production that instantly dates the record. In some cases – like the duet with Daryl Hall, "The Only Flame in Town," and the cover of the lost Hi R&B gem "I Wanna Be Loved" – the songs benefit from the shiny, streamlined production but it obscures the merits of the finest songs on the album. "Room with No Number," "The Comedians," "Sour Milk-Cow Blues," and "Peace in Our Time" all cry out for a simple, stripped-down presentation, but they're weighted down with stylized sounds and trendy synthesizers; however, once the sound of the album settles in, the strength of these songs is apparent. The remainder of Goodbye Cruel World isn't as memorable, primarily because Costello's uninspired vocals and the Attractions' muted performances fail to make the weaker songs musically compelling.


01 - The Only Flame In Town
02 - Home Truth
03 - Room With No Number
04 - Inch By Inch
05 - Worthless Thing
06 - Love Field
07 - I Wanna Be Loved
08 - The Comedians
09 - Joe Porterhouse
10 - Sour Milk Cow Blues
11 - The Great Unknown
12 - The Deportees Club
13 - Peace In Our Time

   Comments: 0 | Views: 3894 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Elvis Costello - King Of America (1986) [2015] [HDTracks]
  • Elvis Costello & The Attractions – Punch the Clock 1983 (2015) [24bit]
  • Elvis Costello & The Attractions - Armed Forces [Hi-Res Remastering] (2015) ...
  • Elvis Costello - Unfaithful Music & Soundtrack Album [2CD] (2015)
  • Elvis Costello & The Attractions - The Very Best of Elvis Costello and The ...

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?