Lossless music download

The Three Sounds And The Oliver Nelson Orchestra - Coldwater Flat (1968)

Jazz | Author: SELMER | 6-05-2017, 15:00
The Three Sounds And The Oliver Nelson Orchestra - Coldwater Flat (1968)
Artist: The Three Sounds And The Oliver Nelson Orchestra
Title Of Album: Coldwater Flat
Year Of Release: 1968 / 2014
Label: Blue Note
Country: US
Genre: Jazz / Swing
Quality: FLAC (tracks + .cue, log)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 52:45 min
Full Size: 239 MB


01. Lonely Bottles (3:04)
02. The Look Of Love (2:32)
03. Georgia (4:59)
04. Grass Is Greener (3:02)
05. Coldwater Flat (2:35)
06. Last Train To Clarksville (3:14)
07. My Romance (2:55)
08. I Remember Bird (2:50)
09. Do Do Do (What Now Is Next) (3:17)
10. Star Trek (4:20)

Live at the Lighthouse captured the Three Sounds at their jazziest, but Coldwater Flat, the first studio session pianist Gene Harris and bassist Andrew Simpkins recorded with new drummer Donald Bailey, takes a different path. For this date, the group decided to emphasize its pop side, recording the record with the lush Oliver Nelson Orchestra and choosing to cover such pop hits as "The Look of Love" and "Last Train to Clarksville." The closing number, "Star Trek," is actually an original by Harris, unrelated to the TV show. One of the primary attractions of the Three Sounds' sound was its simplicity and their ability to find so much variation within the trio format. That magic is somewhat lost with the orchestra, which tends to overwhelm the trio. More than anything, that is what prevents Coldwater Flat from ranking among the group's finest efforts, but the glossy production has its appealing moments as well, and the record does function well as pleasant background music, even if it veers too close to easy listening to be true jazz. -- Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Download The Three Sounds And The Oliver Nelson Orchestra - Coldwater Flat (1968)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1028 |
    Related Releases:     
  • VA - Impulsive! Revolutionary Jazz Reworked (2005)
  • The Three Sounds - Standards (1998)
  • Oliver Nelson - Stolen Moments (1975) [2015 Japan DSD Mastering]
  • Oliver Nelson - Meet Oliver Nelson (1959)
  • M&G Orchestra & Oliver Onions - Guido & Maurizio De Angelis – Bud Spencer ...

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?